Dr Davaulus

PlagueCrafter's page

18 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Heya gents.
So there's a lot of very obvious information about Fear effects and their progression from Shaken to Frightened to Panicked and what not. Pretty much everyone knows these rules:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/glossary.html
A shaken character who is made shaken becomes frightened. Makes perfect sense.

No such rules are in place for Sicken/Nausea in the same section, lending one to believe that sickening someone sickened does not lead to nausea, however, this tiny bit of information listed under Monk makes me question the idea:

"Stunning Fist (Ex): .... The monk must choose which condition will apply before the attack roll is made. These effects do not stack with themselves (a creature sickened by Stunning Fist cannot become nauseated if hit by Stunning Fist again), but additional hits do increase the duration."

So what's this supposed to mean? Using Stunning Fist to make something Sickened makes sense, but using it a second time to make them Nauseated instead makes no sense at all considering no rule is in place to say so...So why does this caveat exist under Stunning Fist?

Is that caveat completely erroneous, or is there a rule about the Sickened status stacking in some esoteric place that I haven't seen?

Any insights?


So, I've looked all over the archives, and I've found some material that supports the idea and some material that discounts the idea, much like any rules question, I suppose.

Basically, here's the gist: I understand how Natural Attacks work, and what makes them Primary or Secondary, and how they generally work in conjunction with Manufactured Weapons, but I'm at a loss as to this particular fact:

One of my PC's has natural Claw attacks, and also wields weapons in either of those hands. Naturally, his choice is either to attack with the weapons, or drop them and attack with the claws. If he saw fit, he could drop one weapon and attack with that claw in addition to the remaining weapon, causing that claw to become secondary, of course.
Here's the dilemma:
What's stopping him from making iterative attacks with his manufactured weapons then dropping them mid-attack as a free action and continuing to pummel the enemy with his claw attacks, considering them secondary.
I've seen no example of this action in any Bestiary, and the Natural Attacks section of the Bestiary doesn't clear this little tidbit up for me. I did find this, but I'm not sure where it's from other than somewhere on these forums:

The PostMonster General wrote:


Can a creature make a slam or claw attack when both his hands are used for something else, such as holding a two-handed weapon?

As long as the creature can easily let go with one hand, yes. A two-handed weapon requires two hands to wield in combat, but not to hold. A frost giant could choose to make a slam attack instead of a greataxe attack without having to drop the greataxe.

On the other hand, a frost giant carrying a heavy weight in both arms doesn’t have a free hand to use for a slam attack. He’d have to drop the object (a free action) before making a slam attack.

So, you could make your full normal attack routine, and then make your slam attack at -5.

I realize that Natural Attacks have long been contradictory and rules-heavy, but if anyone can shed light on this subject and explain whether or not this is achievable and why, I'd be greatly appreciative.