Norzeshe's page

No posts. Organized Play character for William Goodwin.



Second Seekers (Luwazi Elsebo)

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I found a couple pieces of errata in the fourth printing of the Core Rulebook. The first is on Page 10, Playing the Game, third paragraph. Its a simple typo. "Once a check is rolled, the GM compares the result to a target number called the diffificulty class (DC) to determine the outcome." I am not sure what diffificulty is but it seems difficult to class.

The second is one that has slipped through the cracks since the first printing and that is in the Glossidex, page 630, and actually has caused significant confustion in the community. It is under the Criticals heading. Here it says that a critical failure is 10 less than the DC. This contradicts pages 10 and 445 where a critical failure is described as failing by 10 or more. If a failure starts at 1 under the DC, so a critical failure should be 11 lower than the DC.

Second Seekers (Luwazi Elsebo)

This came up in during a session during PaizoCon this weekend and it kind of set Me off. I was playing an Operative during a SFS adventure and I was kind of stuck too close to a mob with reach. My Operative uses trick attack to make an attack on the monster with their pistol, and wildly succeeds the trick attack roll. This should apply the Flat-Footed condition and all the effects of Flat-Footed should apply, which is a penalty to their AC and no reactions for that attack. The GM insists that I take an attack of opportunity for the attack because its with a ranged weapon, even though the creature should be flat-footed for the attack. Apparently he has heard it from some big-wig in Starfinder Society Organized play that the rules as intended are that Trick Attacks at melee range with ranged weapons still provoke because of some Operative Exploit which is only tangentially relevant.

We go to break and he apparently when to check with that bigwig and gives the following exploit as the reason why this has to be the intended interpretation.

Uncanny Shooter (Ex)
Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 96
Level Required 6
Your ranged attacks with small arms do not provoke attacks of opportunity.

First of all, usually when a feat or class ability changes a general rule, or affects a rule that could be easily misinterpreted, it provides an explanation of what the original rule is so you can compare the result. This does not.

Secondly, my interpretation of this exploit is that it is for when you fail the trick attack (it does happen) or if you get too close and want to full attack the mob with a small arm. It is not supposed to be an exploit you need in order to not provoke an AOO from a successful trick attack.

Please resolve this for me so I know what the rules actually are if they are not present in the book, or others do not have to suffer this misinterpretation.