Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

MoreTimeThanSense's page

27 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

One of my players is asking if Holy Sword can be combined with his Paladin Divine Bond.The spell states that the native abilities of the weapon are suppressed and that spells that have an effect upon the weapon don't work while Holy Sword is in effect, but Divine Bond isn't a spell, nor is it a native ability of the weapon.
If I had to guess I'd say that they wouldn't work, but I'd like to know if there's been an official ruling on this.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I built an npc foe for my party to fight using the above combo and it utterly demolished the party tank. My group (and frankly myself) have a feeling that there must be something I've missed bcause it sems way too powerful. I hit the tank twice for 6d6+12 acid twice, the next round they take splash damage from each bomb, 36 total then a round later they take 2d6 extra. Is this right?
As far as I can see there's nothing in the rules that say the sticky effect doesn't stack but this seems a little sily powerwise, is there something I've missed or some errata somewhere, or did I really just drop the party tank with two touch attacks?


I'm currently running a game that has a certain major artifact as a plot device and one of my players purchased a rod of cancellation, saying that he could use it to effectively destroy it if they can't get it away from the BBEGs safely.

Well at first i just said flat out that there's only one given way to destroy an artifact (at least a major one) but my player insists that since the item calls out what happens when it meets a Sphere of Annihilation and that Mage's Disjunction is used in it's construction as proof that it works on artifacts.

But that can't be right can it? An 11,000 GP magic item capable of wrecking an artifact seems off to me, particularly because it doesn't carry the risk that the spell does.

Can somebody please tell me whether the rod of cancellation is actually capable of taking out a major artifact by repeatedly whacking it until it Nat 1's it's save?


I was hypothesizing an underground fight between my party and a purple worm and a player started trying to gauge how tall the cavern would need to be to keep away from it using fly.
I pointed out that the worm in question has a burrow speed and as such could logically burrow it's way up the wall, hang from the ceiling and strike from there.
My player argued that the beast would have to make a climb check to avoid falling, I rebutted that in my scenario it would only expose 10 feet of it's 20 foot space from the ceiling meaning it would still technically be burrowed and he claimed hat the creature has to be completely out of the ceiling or wall to make an attack.
I assumes that they could because I can't imagine a sea serpent sitting ON TOP of water to fight the crew of a ship and would have so much of it's mass above the water to fight.
My player claims that a creature has to be in a type of terrain in it's entirety, no half ways.

So in short; can large or larger creatures with a burrow/swim speed be half in one terrain half out?

And while I'm on the subject, what happens if a large creature is half on solid ground and half over a pit?


11 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

A Babau is supposed to damage weapons that strike it with it's protective slime ability, but RAW it simply can't damage anything:

Spoiler:
A layer of acidic slime coats a babau's skin. Any creature that strikes a babau with a natural attack or unarmed strike takes 1d8 points of acid damage from this slime if it fails a DC 18 Reflex save. A creature that strikes a babau with a melee weapon must make a DC 18 Reflex save or the weapon takes 1d8 points of acid damage; if this damage penetrates the weapon's hardness, the weapon gains the broken condition. Ammunition that strikes a babau is automatically destroyed after it inflicts its damage.

Okay, as you can see in the above, Protective Slime does 1d8 acid damage to a striking weapon, now let's assume the save was failed and max damage was rolled, so we apply 8 acid damage to the weapon... then we half it because it's energy damage... then apply hardness, assuming even a best case scenareo protective slime simply can't damage weapons, at all.

Please tell me that there's been errata on this, because that's just silly.

Edit: well okay it could destroy a whip maybe, or a wet towel, but it really looks like something's wrong with the ability.


Now maybe I'm just thick but I'm not sure of how area effect spells work with AOO.

What I do know is that ranged attacks provoke an AOO, including spells, but do area spells count as ranged spells?

Let's assume that these were all cast defensively.

Example 1. Burning Hands this is an area of effect spell that starts in the adjacent square to the attacker, does this count as a ranged attack, and thus provoke attack of opportunity?
I'd have guessed not, but I'm not sure here.

Example 2. Fireball is an AOE spell that originates from a point chosen by the caster, typically at some distance from their current position, would this count as a ranged attack, and thus provoke AOO?
To me this would seem like a clear cut case of a ranged attack, but since there's no attack roll arguments have been made within the group I play with both for and against it provoking.

Example 3. Flaming Sphere places a harmful object within a target area, and I'm aware that repositioning it does not provoke (As far as I know at least), but would putting it on the field to begin with qualify?
I doubt it, but I thought I'd ask for the sake of completeness.

So can someone help me out here please?


We all know the scene, a dashing underdog Knight charges, lance at the ready against the cruel Black knight to with the hand of fair maiden, it's such a common scene that we automatically equate knights with jousting, naturally I feel that such a tired old cliche simply must be used in at least one of my campains but I've yet to see rules on how to do it.

So my question is of course how would you handle a joust using Pathfinder's system?

The only way I can think of is to handle it a bit like a dual exhibition fight using the rules for both using ultimate combat, except assume that both combatants are moving at the same time using initiative only to determine who gets the first blow.
But how would you score it, and what about unseating the opponent?

Do you have any advice for how to handle jousting? would you use the way I've suggested or go with something completely different?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

First off I'm still a comparatively new GM so I'm sorry if these are stupid questions or have already been answered, I did look but I couldn't find them.

The description for the Horn of Valhalla says that it allows the user to summon a number of human barbarians according to its type and that they start with the basic equipment for a Barbarian.

Firstly as these barbarians aren't statted in the core book (as far as I can tell at least) I'd like to know, do they have an official statblock?

What kind of equipment are they supposed to actually start with? It's not listed anywhere from what I can see.

If they have no official statblock what are they supposed to be built like?
What are their Attributes, skills, feats and rage powers?
Again, what equipment do they actually come with?
If there isn't a way they are supposed to be, who decides their stats? The GM or the one crafting the horn?

I like the concept of this item and I've been wanting to place it as part of a treasure pile late on in the campaign I'm running, but I have no idea how they work beyond what's written in the Core Rules so any help would be appreciated.


When weilding a one or two handed weapon with both hands you add half again your strength bonus to the damage dealt, what (if anything) happens if you have a strength penalty?