Joe Jungers wrote:
Thank you both. This helped. Of course what they should have done is allow the caster to use his intelligence as with hand of the apprentice. I guess they figured the +2 was enough.
ryric wrote:
So this is all GM discretion then? I do see your point about the powerfulness of the item. Does it make a difference that I was envisioning it only to work on the self. Incidentally, the character in question is actually 5th level and does have both craft wands and wondrous items. But I was looking to clarify the rules, so used a lower level example. I was also trying to avoid the , "just make a wand" answer. I find it hard to believe this hasn't come up more, but I searched for craft wondrous item posts and didn't find any question similar to mine. So I guess most 3rd level wizards aren't taking craft wondrous items.
mdt wrote:
I apologize if I'm being dense, but I don't understand why it would be an oddly shaped wand, instead of a brooch, a belt, or any other item on my person. Craft wondrous item is available at level 3, craft wand is only available at level 5. On page 553 of the core rule book, under craft wondrous items, it says to use table 15-29 (550) to determine cost. Under spell trigger items they use an example of a wand, bur if wondrous items use the same table, they why couldn't they also be spell trigger items with 50 charges? Page 496 says they (wondrous items) are usually use-activated or command word, but usually means that sometimes they are not. What I'm getting at is what's a 3rd level wizard with craft wondrous items to do? Most of the specific wondrous items are beyond his ability to make, so it would seem it was intended for them to make 50 use items from his own low-level spells. Thanks for replying. I really appreciate it.
Grick wrote:
I was thinking it would take a slot. A brooch would take the neck slot. If it were a belt of mage armor, it would take the belt slot. My question is, is it in keeping with the rules? Can wondrous items have 50 chargers and spell trigger as opposed to use-activated and continuous as most wondrous items seem to be?
Is it possible for a wizard to create a wondrous item (brooch, belt, whatever, etc.) with 50 charges and a spell trigger instead of use-activated, continuous or command word? For example, a 3rd level wizard with craft wondrous item makes the following items. 1) Brooch of shield spell (any first level spell cast as if first level)
|
