Hialin

MattC's page

27 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


ryric wrote:
I'm fairly certain that's intentionally difficult to get around action economy using unseen servant in this way. Remember that the spell basically creates a nebulous blob of force with a 2 Str - that's it. It's already an extremely useful and versatile spell, it doesn't need a power-up.

For what tasks can you use the unseen servant?

I used it as a trap sense, dragging material in front of us.


ryric wrote:
I suppose, but the shadow would follow the orders of the user, which in this case would be the unseen servant - who can't issue orders. So I guess you get a shadow that just stands there?

So I wouldn't control it, even though it's my unseen servant? I will ask my GM and see what he says about it too...

What I was planning to do was to get out the item or other 'use activated' items from the handy haversack and hand it to the unseen servant and then still have my standard and have the unseen servant activate the item.


Quote:
Use Activated: This type of item simply has to be used in order to activate it. A character has to drink a potion, swing a sword, interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat, look through a lens, sprinkle dust, wear a ring, or don a hat.

An example of an item I'm wanting my unseen servant to use is the bottle of shadows, which states:

Quote:
When turned upside down, the bottle summons a shadow to do the bidding of the user...

Does this mean that my unseen servant can be commanded to turn the bottle upside down and hence activate the item?


Hey,

I have gotten the feat Craft Wondrous Items, and was wondering how the +5 DC works with not having the correct level prerequisite

I am CL 7/ level 7, ioun stones require Level 12 to make.... so would the DC just be 5(initial) + 12(CL) +5(for not being level 12 prerequisite)

So DC 22?

Thanks


Thanks again.


Thanks,

What does the skeleton template page mean by

Quote:
Challenge Rating: This depends on the creature's new total number of Hit Dice

In this sense, what does the 'new' mean? Think this is what confused me...


Hey all,

I'm a little confused on how the challenge rating changes the HD.

A Humanoid skeleton has a CR of 1/3 and HD =1.

What happens when I apply the bloody template to it, CR +1.
The CR becomes 1.33 but what about the HD?

On the skeleton template page, it states:

HD CR
2–3 1
4–5 2

What factor decides what HD the creature is, in this case is it 2 or 3?

What about CR = 1.5 or 1.66?

Thanks,
Matt


CraziFuzzy wrote:
And actually, off the top of my head, I'm not sure the DC of the control undead checks to keep an undead army in line is that much different than Diplomacy skill checks.

Increase diplomacy, aids control of undead?


@CraziFuzzy & @Claxon

Thanks for your help


@CraziFuzzy will look into it

@Claxon I read somewhere that they get daily will saves and could break out of your control, as they are intelligent? also, you need to use command undead to control them after you create them apparently


@CraziFuzzy thanks

Thanks, @Claxon , what you mean at least not with this item, is there a better item?


In general for Shadows, if they kill a humanoid creature via strength damage, it will return in 1d4 rounds under the control of the killer.

With the item Bottle of Shadows, you control a Shadow for a period of rounds, and then it returns to the bottle.

If the humanoid creatures return, they are under the Shadows control, and subsequently, yours... What happens if the original Shadow dies/is returned whilst controlling other Shadows OR if the Shadows return after the original dies/is returned?

Hope this makes sense, thanks


Hima Flametinker III wrote:
MattC wrote:

So the Ogre, in the bestiary, has armour, and some of the creatures have weapons (and ammo for the goblin, but doesnt state how much?)

When created/summoned/whatever, they will have these items?

I would say they would still have armor. Unless they were stripped of it. Though the use of weapons is an iffy. I know skeletons can but I can't think of a zombie that does.

So they have armour, and i'll ask my DM about weapons (and armour too just in case)

Thanks


Quote:

Bottle of Shadows

Aura faint conjuration; CL 5th; Weight —
Slot none; Price 7,000 gp

DESCRIPTION

This bottle is crafted from the darkest ebony. When opened and held upright, faint whispers can be heard emanating from the bottle's mouth. The bottle initially has 4 charges. When turned upside down, the bottle summons a shadow to do the bidding of the user, draining 1 charge each round of service. As a standard action, the bearer may dismiss the summoned shadow. If the shadow kills a humanoid creature of at least 4 HD, the bottle gains 1 charge. The bottle is automatically restored to 4 charges at sundown.

For this item, shadows have the ability to create more shadows:

Bestiary wrote:

Create Spawn (Su) A humanoid creature

killed by a shadow’s Strength damage
becomes a shadow under the control
of its killer in 1d4 rounds.

Does this mean I would control them as i am controlling the initial shadow and what happens to these newly spawns if the original shadow runs out of charges?

Thanks


Ravingdork wrote:
Aldrac Brightmoor wrote:

Right they are the basic ones from the Bestiary

Which may well include gear if there is any listed in their Bestiary entry.

So the Ogre, in the bestiary, has armour, and some of the creatures have weapons (and ammo for the goblin, but doesnt state how much?)

When created/summoned/whatever, they will have these items?


So i've bought a robe of bones, and been getting all the stats for the skeletons/zombies. When they become undead creatures from the bones, I'm assuming they have no armour/weapons/ammo, is that right?


The Shining Fool wrote:
Their speed is 40 feet. Their Hide armor slows them down to 30 feet. Just like Medium Armor slows a PC's speed by ten feet (unless you're playing a dwarf.)

Thanks :)


In the bestiary it has it as 30ft (40ft base), just wondering what this meant?


Charon's Little Helper wrote:
MattC wrote:

One last thing: Skeletons - they have two natural attacks? claw: -3 (1d4+1) or 2 claws: +2 (1d4+2)

Why are these numbers different?

Thanks

Because if a skeleton attacks with a weapon, then they can only use one of their hands for a claw attack, and that claw attack becomes a secondary natural attack, giving it -5 to attack and only gaining 1/2 strength to damage. (All natural attacks become secondary if used along with a manufactured weapon.)
Scavion wrote:
MattC wrote:

One last thing: Skeletons - they have two natural attacks? claw: -3 (1d4+1) or 2 claws: +2 (1d4+2)

Why are these numbers different?

Thanks

The first is in consideration to the natural attack being secondary to making a full attack with a weapon. The Claw is an offhand/secondary weapon in this instance and so benefit less from Strength.(.5x Mod)

The second is simply using all the natural attacks the skeleton has instead of using a weapon that takes up one of it's hands. Primary natural attacks benefit fully from strength.

Thank you :D


One last thing: Skeletons - they have two natural attacks? claw: -3 (1d4+1) or 2 claws: +2 (1d4+2)

Why are these numbers different?

Thanks


blahpers wrote:

Let's take a look:

A wolf is an animal with 2 hit dice. According to their creature type description, animals use the medium (3/4) progression, giving the wolf a base attack bonus of +1 (compare with a 2nd-level rogue or cleric). Combined with their 13 Strength, that gives the wolf a total melee attack bonus of +2.

The damage is a straight 1d6 plus the wolf's Strength bonus, making it 1d6+1.

Hope this helps!

Cheapy wrote:

Same as a PC.

In this case:

The wolf has 2 HD. From this page, we see that Animal type has 3/4ths BAB. With 2 HD, that leaves it at +1 BAB.

The Wolf has a Strength of 13. That's a +1 bonus, so the bite attack is done at a +2 total bonus to hit.

Similarly, the damage is 1d6+1. The base damage of the bite is 1d6, and due to have a Strength of 13, it gets the +1 bonus to damage as well.

Thanks, it has :D

Edit: Where does Natural Attack come in?
For example applying the skeleton template, for a medium creature, should be 1d4, not 1d6, this is for claw attack however?

Edit2: Found the above in universal monster rules


Hey all,

So im looking at the wolf, it has melee bite: +2 (1d6 +1 plus trip)

What determins the +2 for the roll, and where does the +1 on the damage come from?

Edit: Is the +2 from their melee attack roll?
Thanks


christos gurd wrote:
MattC wrote:
Umbral Reaver wrote:
Always down.
For both BAB and saving throws?
for everything

Thanks


Umbral Reaver wrote:
Always down.

For both BAB and saving throws?


Hey all,

As a necromancer i'll bee applying either the skeleton or zombie template to creatures and was wondering which way to round for BAB and the saving throws...

For example:

Wolf Skeleton it's HD is 2, and the BAB calculation is 3/4 x HD which is 1.5.
For a Human Skeleton (1HD) its BAB is 0.8

For BAB is it Always round up, always round down, or round normally?

For the Ref saving throw for example, it uses Dex modifier + 1/3 HD
for a wolf skeleton thats 3 + 2/3

Same again, round always up/down or normally?

Thanks


Thanks all for the replies, most helpful.


Hey all,

As a wizard you can use your second level spell slots for first level spells, right?

But can you use two first level slots to store a second level spell?