
MalcomRace12 |
Does anyone know what the point of using a withdraw action is with Dimensional Slide as an Arcanist? The ability states:
The arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to create a dimensional crack that she can step through to reach another location. This ability is used as part of a move action or withdraw action, allowing her to move up to 10 feet per arcanist level to any location she can see. This counts as 5 feet of movement. She can only use this ability once per round. She does not provoke attacks of opportunity when moving in this way, but any other movement she attempts as part of her move action provokes as normal.
To me this means that as soon as the Arcanist moves to step into the rift while threatened WITHOUT a withdraw action, he provokes an AoO as normal, but the remainder of his dimensional movement is safe from AoO's. I am lead to believe this because of the last line; "but any other movement she attempts as part of her move action provokes attacks as normal.
If the arcanist never generates AoO's when leaving a square, why would it say she can also use a withdraw action?
This point is coming up because it seems OP to be able to teleport freely away and STILL BE ABLE TO CAST SPELLS THAT TURN without submitting to any attacks of opportunity.
Any clear ruling with sources would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
-Malcom Race