Lambogini's page

Organized Play Member. 4 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 19 Organized Play characters.




2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Had a PFS game last night where we had an interest question come up. We where fighting an opponent who had a blur type effect going. We didn't know if this would impact the ability to use the Hypnotic Stare on them or not. (The below scenarios all assume the target is or stays within 30 feet of the mesmerist. Note: MT = My Thoughts which of course are what I am trying to make sure I am thinking things through correctly).

Scenario 1:
Q: Target has blur effect, providing 20% concealment, does this hinder the use of Hypnotic Stare (HS)?
MT: Since your are still in the same square the Mesmerist can still target you with Hypnotic Stare without any issues. Also since Hypnotic Stare does not require a to hit roll so it ignores the 20% concealment modifier.

Scenario 2:
Q: Target has displacement effect, providing 50% concealment, does this hinder the use of HS?
MT: This would be the same thoughts as I had for Scenario 1.

Scenario 3:
Q: If the target has actual concealment due to terrain instead of magical effects does the MT for both still apply?
MT: I would say yes.

Scenario 4:
Q: Target has Partial Cover?
MT: I would say HS would be able to be used against them since you can still see them (although that isn't a requirement according to the HS description).

Scenario 5:
Q: Target has Total Cover?
MT: This is a tough one for me. I would guess that you could use HS on the target, but only if you where aware of their presence. I say this because HS does not say you have to be able to see the target to effect them. I am up in the air about if it would require a DC20 concentration check (much like if the Mesmerist was blind) to effect them, but I am leaning towards requiring the concentration check.

Scenario 6:
Q: Target has Mirror Image?
MT: I would say that HS can be used against the target. The reason I say this is because it does not require an attack roll to be used and Mirror Image description says that "Spells and effects that do not require an attack roll affect you normally and do not destroy any of your figments." Although I am not leaning towards this I MIGHT make the mesmerist have to make a DC20 (or some other value) concentration check though.

Scenario 7:
Q: Target has Invisibility effect?
MT: I would say HS can only be used on the target if you know what square they are in. I would also say that there is no miss chance as with Scenario 1 and 2 if you know their square location. This next part is where I am a little unsure on. If you established your HS and then the target moves (keeping within your 30 foot range) you could still maintain your HS on them (although I am thinking at this point that it might require a DC20 Concentration check to do so.

So how are my thoughts on the scenarios?

Thanks for any help in advance

2/5

I have done some searching and cannot find anything specific on this topic to answer my question.

Background:
I GM a group through a Scenario that has a Tier 1-2 a Tier 3-4 and a Tier 6-7 list for items that are possible to find (and thus allow the PCs to buy in the future despite what their Fame or Prestige is).

Question:
Its clear that if I run the Scenario as a Tier 1-2 that the PCs would only get those items as available. But what if I run the Scenario as a 3-4 or a 6-7? Should they only get the appropriate level of Items found or should they get their respective played level and the tiers below those as well?

I.E. if I run it as 3-4 then they should only get 3-4 Items or should they get 1-2 and 3-4. The same for 6-7 but then they would get all the Tiers 1-2, 3-4, and 6-7.

I just want to make sure I report their Chronicle Sheets correctly to not jip them anything.

Please note I am ONLY needing to know the Items Found side of the chronicle sheet, the gold and everything else is very clear.

Thanks in advance for any help.