Ken Rice 4's page

19 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.



1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am going to be playing a Witch with the 3rd party (Flaming Crab) Feytouched Hexer archetype, but couldn't help but notice that the 'Faerie Wings' they supposedly get at 5th level says it 'replaces the witch's 5th-level hex'....

Except that Witches don't get a hex at 5th level. They get one at 4th, 6th, 8th, etc. This makes me wonder if they actually meant the Hexer gets the Wings at 4th level instead of a hex (especially considering the Faerie Wings are not as good as the Flight hex, which would grant Fly at 5th level--but ALSO gives Feather Fall at will, Levitate once/day, AND a bonus on Swim checks...so getting the Fly from Faerie Wings a level earlier doesn't seem unbalanced).

Anyone seen an errata on this?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am trying to determine how to apply several different multipliers to Carrying Capacity, all on the same character. In this case:

--28 Strength base
--Muleback Cords (adds effective 8 Strength, making it 36 Str)
--Size Large Quadruped (* 3)
--Ant Haul spell (* 3)

Since Str 36 is off the Carrying Capacity chart, we are supposed to multiply the numbers for a Str 26 by 4 to get base carrying capacity. Is that result then * 3 (for large quadruped) and then * 3 again (for Ant Haul)? Or would I add all multipliers together as a single multiplier and then apply only once (4 + 3 + 3 = multiplying a Str 26 capacity * 10)?

It comes out to completely different numbers depending on whether you apply each multiplier one at a time or not...

Also, my DM said you have to be 'under' the weight or somehow already considered 'carrying' it before these benefits apply...in other words, you might be able to carry around a catapult, no problem, but LIFTING it in the first place still only uses your base Strength....


1 person marked this as a favorite.

When a Druid reaches sufficient level to be able to turn into Size: Huge animals, is there any rule prohibiting simply applying the Dire Creature Template to an existing (non-Dire) animal and using that?

The Dire template specifically says it can be added to any animal that is not already Dire, but that still leave the door open to quite a few.

I have a Feral Hunter with the Wild Shape class ability who just hit 8th level and has access to Huge animals, and has a preference for changing into feline forms, but there is a distinct lack of any size Huge cats (except the Warcat, which comes with its own set of problems, such as no access to the Rend ability via Wild Shape).

Even a so-called 'Dire Tiger' in the Bestiary is no better than a standard Tiger as far as base damage for natural attacks, movement speed, or anything else that Wild Shape would give, so that's hardly worth using. Taking a regular Tiger and applying the Dire Creature Template is MUCH better (speed 50', claws doing 2d6/bite 3d6, etc), so that seems a no-brainer.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Warcat (from Belkzen, the Hold of the Orc Hordes) as listed in the d20pfsrd is shown as having a Space of 15' and a Reach of 15'...is this a typo? It seems to be based on the Creature Size Rules as Written diagrams which also show a Huge (Long) creature as having a reach of 15', the same as a Huge (Tall) creature. Are those rules in error as well? It is worth noting that in the actual Creature Size table, a Huge (Long) creature is listed as having a 10' reach....

In every other diagram example, a Long creature has 5' less reach than a Tall creature of the same size. Only the Huge (Long) has a Reach equal to its Space in the diagrams. The more I think about it, the more it seems the diagram is just flat-out wrong and was never corrected.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

On a few different Traits, it lists "+1 caster level" added to one or more spells known as a benefit, but the bonus is NOT specified as a "Trait bonus". For instance:

Gifted Adept

Benefit: Pick one spell when you choose this trait—from this point on, whenever you cast that spell, its effects manifest at +1 caster level.

Outlander (Lore Seeker)

Benefit You gain a +1 trait bonus on Knowledge (arcana) checks, and Knowledge (arcana) is a class skill for you. If you cast arcane spells, pick three spells on your spell list. You are particularly adept at casting these spells, so they function at +1 caster level when you cast them, and their save DCs (if any) gain a +1 bonus.

...So, would these caster level bonuses stack?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A question on using the Ring of Revelation which dovetails with your unofficial sidebar ruling on using Use Magic Device to trick the ring---

I have an Oracle of Flame in my game who is employing Use Magic Device on his Ring of Revelation to Emulate a Class Feature and trick it into letting him access a revelation from the Lore Mystery (specifically "Sidestep Secret"; adds his Cha mod instead of Dex mod to AC/Reflex saves...in combination with a high base Charisma, a Headband of Alluring Charisma, and Celestial Armor with its Max Dex mod of +8, his AC goes through the roof).

Is this a legal use of the Use Magic Device skill on the Ring? On the surface it seems as though it probably is, but I'd appreciate any feedback, even unofficial.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The rules as written for a Sorcerer with the Crossblooded archetype say she knows one less spell per spell level than normal...does that literally mean she would learn NO spells of a level in which she would receive 1 new known spell?

For instance, a 4th level Sorcerer would ordinarily gain access to 2nd-level spells, and learn one 2nd-level spell....so a Crossblooded Sorcerer would learn none and have to wait til 5th level? That seems immoderately harsh. I would think the 'minimum 1' exception should be applicable here...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The rules as written for a Sorcerer with the Crossblooded archetype say she knows one less spell per spell level than normal...does that literally mean she would learn NO spells of a level in which she would receive 1 new known spell?

For instance, a 4th level Sorcerer would ordinarily gain access to 2nd-level spells, and learn one 2nd-level spell....a Crossblooded Sorcerer would learn none and have to wait til 5th level? That seems immoderately harsh. I would think the 'minimum 1' exception should be applicable here.


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

The RaW for the White-Haired Witch archetype definitely raise more questions than they answer:

--Does the hair attack receive the Intelligence bonus to hit as well as damage? This only seems to make sense. Also, the wording "plus the witch’s Intelligence modifier" seems rather open-ended...is this in addition to a Strength modifier to damage? If so, since it is the only primary natural attack, would that be 1 1/2 times Str mod to damage (or for that matter, 1 1/2 times the Int mod)?

--Since it is a Free action to grapple an opponent on a hit with the hair, can the Witch then use a Full Attack action to attack the grappled opponent with a weapon in that same (first) round? (Obviously she could not do so in subsequent rounds, because at that point maintaining the grapple would require a Standard action.) If she can do this, is the weapon considered a secondary attack?

--Since the Witch is not considered to have the grappled condition when grappling a foe with her hair, if her hair had reach, would she still receive attacks of opportunity with her hair against other foes provoking with movement? If so, could she grab/grapple them as well? Or is the hair considered to be completely occupied when grappling one foe?

--If the Witch hair-grapples a foe at reach (10', 15' or further away), does the foe remain in the square they were grappled at that distance, or are they automatically pulled to a square adjacent to the Witch, as per usual grapple rules? (Since the RaW explicitly state the Witch is NOT considered grappled, and since there is a special "Pull" hair attack available at 6th level WHW, it seemed to me that said grappled victim would simply be stuck in the square in which he was grappled...unless perhaps he won a grapple check and used the option to "move yourself and your target up to half speed", thus allowing him to move closer).

--What kind of damage does hair do: B, P, S, or some combination?