Korvosa Guard

Kaede Arasmes's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Casabrova.



Dark Archive

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Rules question that I can't seem to find a definitive answer to:

The Spellbinder archetype for Wizard:

"A spellbinder is an elven wizard who forges an arcane bond between himself and one or more wizard spells. These spells become so well understood by the spellbinder that he can prepare them in spell slots that already have other spells prepared in them.

Spell Bond (Su): At 1st level, a spellbinder selects any one spell that he knows as a bonded spell. As a full-round action, the spellbinder may replace a spell of the same or higher level as his bonded spell with his bonded spell. For example, a spellbinder who selects magic missile as his bonded spell could spend a full-round action to exchange any 1st-level or higher spell that he has prepared with magic missile. At 3rd level, and every two levels thereafter, a spellbinder may select another spell he knows and add it to his list of bonded spells, to a maximum of nine bonded spells at 17th level."

Metamagic feats are applied to spells when you prepare them. Though it is only fluff, it describes the Spell Bond ability as preparing bonded spells. The ability itself says it replaces (also referred to as exchanging it). I would assume that you can apply metamagic feats because you inherently know your bonded spell and you inherently know how to apply metamagic, but I of course am biased because that's what I want the ruling to be.

Can a Spellbinder apply Metamagic feats when exchanging a bonded spell for a prepared spell?

Please state or link the resource that specifically addresses this issue (if one exists). Simply saying "no" is not helpful. Thank you.