|
|
I was trying to make a kobold fighter based on the one portrayed on "Little Trouble in Big Absalom" and I came across some problems with his abilities.
Simeek has STR 18, DEX 12, CON 14, INT 10, WIS 12, CHA 12
Selecting his options I came across this:
Ancestry: Kobold +2 DEX, +2 CHA, -2 CON, free (+2 STR)
Background: Laborer boosts STR or CON, free - I think they took +2 STR, +2 CON
Class: Fighter +2 STR
At this point he has 16 STR, 12 DEX, 10 CON, 10 INT, 10 WIS, 12 CHA.
I can't think of a way to apply 4 ability boosts and get the same abilities unless I apply two ability boost to CON as described on page 27 of core rulebook "Voluntary Flaws"
Sometimes, it’s fun to play a character with a major flaw even if you’re not playing an ancestry that imposes one. You can elect to take two additional ability flaws when applying the ability boosts and ability flaws from your ancestry. If you do, you can also apply one additional free ability boost. These ability flaws can be assigned to any ability score you like, but you can’t apply more than one ability flaw to the same ability score during this step unless you apply both of the additional ability flaws to a score that is already receiving an ability boost during this step. In this case, the first ability flaw cancels the ability boost, and the second ability flaw decreases the score by 2. Likewise, as an exception to the normal rules for ability boosts, you can apply two free ability boosts to an ability score receiving an ability flaw during this step; the first ability boost cancels the ability flaw, and the second ability boost increases the score by 2. For example, a dwarf normally gets an ability boost to Constitution and Wisdom, along with an ability flaw to Charisma. You could apply one ability flaw each to Intelligence and Strength, or you could apply both ability flaws to Wisdom. You could not apply either additional ability flaw to Charisma, though, because it is already receiving dwarves’ ability flaw during this step.
But it seems it is not legal for play according to the character creation section for organised play:
Pathfinder Society uses the standard method detailed under “Ability Score Overview” on page 20 of the Core Rulebook. Your character can also take two additional ability flaws to gain one additional ability boost as described in the Voluntary Flaws sidebar on page 26 of the Core Rulebook.
I may have missed something but I think they used a rule not explicitly mentioned on the rules. Is it legal for use since they used it on a santionable adventure or is it possible using 2 ability flaws for an ability boost?
My calculation with the voluntary flaws rule is STR 18, DEX 12, CON 14, INT 10, WIS 12, CHAR 10
Thanks in advance
