Can you play Elemental Treaty during an encounter at the time you will take damage?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Basic question I have been asked but don't know why I'm not 100% sure you can.
Seems to me you can play it when you would play an armor, but is it true?

Lone Shark Games

Yes, just as much as you can play an armor card or other spell that reduces damage.


Can you play Righteousness the same manner? The card states:
"Display this card to add d6 to your combat checks. When you are dealt damage, recharge any cards you would discard as damage".

So, can I play this card just for preventing from discarding cards?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Hum... I would say you can play cards/powers that reduce damage only. Righteousness isn't really reducing damage.

So IMHO I would say no, but nice question so I may be instructed otherwise by the powers to be.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
SimonB wrote:

Can you play Righteousness the same manner? The card states:

"Display this card to add d6 to your combat checks. When you are dealt damage, recharge any cards you would discard as damage".

So, can I play this card just for preventing from discarding cards?

No, you play the card to add a d6 to your combat check. The damage portion is a rider on the main effect, not the reason you play the card.


Thanks for clearing it out. I was afraid Righteousness is not as good as I thought it was.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Can you play Elemental Treaty during an encounter at the time you will take damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion