Dagmer 999's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Dumesh.



Scarab Sages

Can a spell cast from a scroll that otherwise fits the criteria.. like say, see invisibility, benefit from the ability of the ring of continuation?

It seems clear that spells triggered from wands and staves would not apply, since they are not cast at the time of activation, but merely triggered. However, as spell completion items, the activation involves completing the casting of the spell with the final verbal components and entails provoking an AoO as normal for spellcasting. Would this activity constitute casting to satisfy the wording of the ring and have it extend the duration?

The ring...
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateEquipment/ringsRodsStaves/rings. html#_ring-of-continuation

I just wanted to add a further reference on spell completion which reinforces the idea that spell completion involves finishing the spell cast (ie... casting the spell)... from the PRD:

Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that's left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can't already cast the spell, there's a chance he'll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action (or the spell's casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.

Scarab Sages 2/5

I failed to buy a ticket when they were on sale, and I have heard that generic tickets will not be accepted for this event, so I am looking to purchase one.

If anyone bought one and isn't sure they can make it, or just wants to turn a little profit, I will pay $35 for it.

Reply here or PM please.

Apologies if this post is against any message board rules, I didn't notice a specific prohibition.