DMO's page

20 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Litany of Righteousness is a little confusing.

LoR:
Litany of Righteousness wrote:
Calling down a litany of anathema, you make an evil more susceptible to the attacks of good creatures. If the target is evil, it takes double damage from attacks made by creatures with a good aura (from a class feature or as a creature with the good subtype). If the target also has the evil subtype; when it is hit with attacks made by creatures with a good aura, it is also dazzled for 1d4 rounds. If this spell targets a nonevil creature (or one that lacks the evil subtype), it has no effect, and the spell is wasted.

At first glance, it seems to work like a crit, adding a multiplier to any existing multipliers. So if a Paladin were to hit something for 10 damage, LoR would double it to 20. If that Paladin were to instead crit with a longsword, dealing 20 damage, LoR would add a multiplier to his crit (x2 + x1) for 30 damage dealt, since multipliers stack additively.

Except for when something is vulnerable to a particular energy. Energy vulnerability damage is stacked multiplicatively, so that your damage is totaled, then multiplied by 1.5, making it clear that in some cases, damage dealt and damage taken can be different.

For Example:
I cast a fireball into a room containing a goblin and a white dragon. I roll my d6s, and it is determined that my fireball deals 30 points of fire damage. The goblin takes 30 points of damage, while the white dragon takes 45 points.

I notice LoR uses different language than something like Spirited Charge, saying that the target takes more damage from the attacks of certain creatures, rather than dealing more damage on a charge attack.

Does this mean that LoR works like vulnerability instead of a crit, causing the creature under LoR to take (10 x2 x2) 40 damage instead of (10 x(2+1)) 30 from the Paladin's longsword crit?

Thanks in advance.


I've seen a bunch of "MoMS dip Brawler" builds. For an archetype, do the features that have been swapped in follow the same rules/restrictions for the features that have been swapped out?

Style Fusing replaces Flurry of Blows. You lose Flurry of Blows when wearing armor. Wouldn't you then lose Style Fusing when wearing armor as well? Still a useful dip for bonus feats and saves and other monk stuff, but could you still combine styles if you were wearing Brawling armor?

Thanks.


I realize when polymorphed, worn items are "absorbed" into the new form. What happens to your weapons?

Let's say I'm a 16th level Bloodrager with the Draconic bloodline, wielding a +2 Furious Courageous Greatsword. I enter a bloodrage, and choose to use my Dragon Form supernatural ability to polymorph as Form of the Dragon II.

I expect that my weapon gets absorbed into the polymorph, so I cannot attack with it (I am "stuck" with full attacking as a dragon, woe is me). But do I retain the Furious and Courageous effects as I would, say, the effect from a Ring of Protection or Cloak of Resistance? Do I even retain those bonuses, or am I just misinterpreting the "absorbed" part entirely?

Thanks in advance.