Cyril Blakros's page

No posts. Organized Play character for JezzaL.



4/5 ***

So last week I ran one of the recent One-Shot adventures at my local lodge in Adventure Mode. It ended in a TPK. Does that mean that the character the players assigned the scenario to died?

4/5 ***

If you're a Field Commissioned agent and you pick Underworld as your bonus Lore, and you have a background that gives you Underworld Lore, can you then pick another skill instead? Or do you have to pick one of the other options (Engineering, Legal, Mercantile) as your bonus Lore?

4/5 ***

Any word on whether this is going to happen?


This order is asking me for credit card details to complete, but I was just wanting to use store credit.


Hi there, I put this order through on 19 November, it was supposed to ship in 1 to 7 business days but it still pending?


Please cancel order #2885606. Thanks.


So the players in my campaign have purchased a galley to sail round in, which is not normally used on the open sea...
What would be the consequences of trying?


By RAW Bless weapon makes the affected weapon good-aligned, which overrides and suppresses any alignment the weapon might have.
My group has obtained an intelligent LE sword and the paladin is thinking of applying bless weapon to use it.
This sword is a minor artifact. By RAW it is automatically affected, but I'm thinking that bless weapon only changes the alignment for combat purposes. The sword will still be LE and want to carry out its purposes of slay all, leading to a personality conflict at the end of the fight.
And should the sword be allowed a will save, even though the spell doesn't normally allow it?
Any thoughts appreciated.


For example, if you cast a Fireball and an ally with SR is within the blast radius, can you voluntarily fail the caster level check to overcome their Spell Resistance?


If an intelligent weapon bestows a negative level on any wielder with an alignment different from its own (say LG for the sake of argument), will a ring of mind shielding protect a non-LG wielder from this?
I'm thinking it wouldn't, as the weapon not being able to know someone's alignment, is not the same as them having the same alignment as the weapon. But would like to know what others think.


I placed this order yesterday using my Visa debit card. The order was split into 2 - order numbers 1600397 and 1600150. Yet my account shows a total of 6 authorisations (for decreasing amounts) from paizo.com. What's going on?


One of the PCs in my game was killed by a vampire's energy drain (as many negative levels as HD). The PC is due to rise as a vampire 2 days after death. (1 day has already passed in game time).

The other players (oblivious to the possibility of their fallen comrade turning into a vampire) were thinking of casting speak with dead to find out if he wants to return to this mortal coil, and if so whether it should be done by reincarnation or raise dead.

All 3 spells are listed as not working on corpses that have been turned into undead. The question is, will they still work if cast before the 2 days are up? Or is the PC considered to be undead from the moment of his death?

4/5 ***

According to the scenario, the PCs are supposed to infiltrate the encampment wearing official Hellknight attire. That would be full plate armour, presumably? Isn't it going to be a bit of a giveaway to see the members of the party who aren't proficient with heavy armour stumbling around?


So, I had an interesting session tonight where the group pretty much Leeroy Jenkinsed their way to the Morrowfall.
I had Vahnwynne ambush them in area B20 as someone else had suggested in the What Lies in Dust thread. After quite a fight they reduced her to gaseous form and she fled under the iron doors and down to the Amber Arca. The heroes all drank potions of gaseous form and followed her, at which point they were attacked by the vampire spawn which tried to dominate them and force them to solidify. The barbarian / fighter ended up fleeing down the hallway and grabbing the Morrowfall. Just after this the ranger / sorceror used her scroll of sunburst which destroyed all the vampire spawn (but blinded the other 3 players). This is where we ended the session.
So I'm presuming that Jair and the Mazeflesh Man aren't going to just wait in their rooms for the PCs to destroy them. I'm thinking that the Mazeflesh Man will come out and attack the party pretty much straight away, while Jair will be sneaky and try to ambush the PCs before they leave Delvehaven (possibly at the staircase that leads up to the groundfloor).
Does this sound like it makes sense?


Just seeking clarification. Undead are immune to ability damage to physical scores. However ray of enfeeblement causes the target to take a penalty to strength for 1 round per caster level. Is that the same thing as strength damage?

4/5 *** Venture-Agent, New Zealand—Auckland

Hi there, not sure if this is the right folder for this.
My Sunday group just finished running through Masks of the Living God yesterday and City of Golden Death is on its way but may not arrive in time for the next session. So I'm looking for suggestions for a PFS module in case I have to run a fill-in next week.

Anything that's suitable for 5 4th level characters, and easily adapted to being set in or around Tamran would be good. If it was already a PFRPG module rather than one of the 3.5 ones that would be a bonus.

Suggestions?


Two of the characters in my campaign have been turned to stone and the group only has 1 lot of stone salve.
Will Break Enchantment reverse this, or only Stone to Flesh?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi there, I'm going to be running a fight with some harpies in the next session and having not used them before I had a couple of questions about the Captivating Song ability.
According to the Bestiary, the ability lasts while the harpy sings plus one round.
So does that mean:

Round 1 - Harpy (init 15) starts singing (standard action)
Pc (init 10) fails save, starts walking to harpy

Round 2 - Harpy keeps singing (standard action)
PC keeps walking to harpy

Round 3 - Harpy does something else (so it was singing up until the start of it's Round 3 turn)
PC keeps walking to harpy

Round 4 - Harpy does something else
PC is free to act.

Is that how it would work?
Also, attacks from the harpy's allies don't break the effect, is that right?

Thanks for any advice.


In my campaign there's an evil 8th level bard, normally CR8.
He's responsible for destroying an entire hamlet. When the players encountered him they captured him and cut off his right hand so he could never play the fiddle again (he does also have max ranks in Perform (Sing) though). They then handed him over to the authorities.
However he's going to get busted out of jail by the BBEG. The characters might fight him on the same day, in which case he will only have mundane equipment taken fronm dead townsfolk. With only one hand he'll have difficulty changing between spells and a weapon if attacked, but he's going to be mainly casting spells anway.
I'm thinking that should bump him down to CR6. Does that sound right?


The Acrobatics skills states that a creature gets a +4 bonus on acrobatics checks to jump for every 10 feet their base land speed is faster than 30.
As a monk's extra speed is an enhancement bonus, does that mean they are considered to have a base land speed of 30ft for this purpose?
A barbarian's land speed is 10 feet faster than the norm for their race. It's not mentioned as being an enhancement bonus, so a human barbarian would get the Acrobatics bonus, right?
Any insight gratefully appreciated.


The duration of this spell is 1 round.
Does that mean that someone who is on open ground and falls into a fissure has one round to escape? Or is the idea that anyone who fails both saves just dies? Reading the spell it says that people on the ground can't move or attack, but that spells can be cast with a successful concentration check. Does that mean that you can't climb out of a fissure, but if you can cast teleport or something you might get away?


What energy is Tornulis' Tongue of Rebuke guardian supposed to be imbued with?