| Maquist |
The vorpal weapon description states that it severs the head on a roll of Natural 20 with a successful critical confirmation. The Ranger class ability Quarry states that when you roll a critical threat on a target of this ability, critical hits are automatically confirmed.
I'm playing a ranger with a vorpal battle axe. I had designated one of the big bad guys in the encounter as my Quarry to get the +2 to hit. The question came up when I rolled a Natural 20, plus Quarry's automatic critical confirmation: does that automatically trigger vorpal's head severing power?
We looked through the books, but weren't able to find a specific ruling. The GM let me have the severing without any other rolls in that encounter just to keep the game rolling, but afterward said that in the future, the vorpal effect will require a confirming roll to trigger if I have Quarry active. And even if I don't roll the confirmation, Quarry still grants the critical hit, just sans head removal.
Has anyone else had this come up? Are there any rules written about whether things like this trigger when a class ability automatically confirms critical hits for you? What do others think?