CrystalSpellblade's page

293 posts (304 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 alias.

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Aelryinth wrote:

Universal monster rules started with 3.5 and the OGL thereby. Paizo updated them several times. So, it's a late addition. You can tell because they still talk about the DR effect in the older demon entries, and such things aren't in the 3.5 Demon/Devil subtypes.

So, it was first in the individual entries, then Paizo updated it to the race subtypes, and then just made it a universal rule to save time.


Every copy of 3.5 Monster Manual I have read has had the language that creatures with an alignment subtype can overcome that type of DR with natural weapons and weapons they wield. I even pulled up a pdf of what says is a first printing of 3.5 Monster Manual 1 and it has that language, so again no, it is not a late edition. Unless I remembered this wrong or the PDF I am looking at is wrong then it has always been this way. I'll look for my physical copy of it(Or some kind board member has theirs around and can look it up).

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Aelryinth wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Creatures with the evil subtype do bypass DR/evil, actually.

Some monsters are vulnerable to good-, evil-, chaotic-, or lawful-aligned weapons, such as from an align weapon spell or the holy magical weapon property. A creature with an alignment subtype (chaotic, evil, good, or lawful) can overcome this type of damage reduction with its natural weapons and weapons it wields as if the weapons or natural weapons had an alignment (or alignments) that matched the subtype(s) of the creature.

That's a late addition to the universal monster rules, but still adds to further defining the nature of the rules. Without a rule explicitly stating they gain DR for their attacks, creatures don't get them.


Not a late edition. Been in the rules since 2009.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Sword wrote:

Finally the clincher for me is that accelerated drinker doesnt allow you to drink extracts as a move action. I see no reason for Potion Glutton to have a less strict interpretation.

Accelerated Drinker doesn't have the "Or other potables" in its benefits section so using it as a comparison, to me, doesn't seem like sound reasoning. Accelerated Drinker is also a trait and not a feat.

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Quantum Steve wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:
All this pfs talk is very much off-topic. Ascalaphus makes a well-written logical argument. So far most counters I've seen are either 'Its too powerful with extracts", or "It's not fair", or "I don't like it...", so much as I can tell. Did I miss any arguments against extracts more comparable to the logic posed by Ascalaphus? If so, can we compile them in a post so we can get back on topic? Thanks!
A potable is a drinkable liquid. It could be argued that, while an extract is certainly drinkable, it is never defined, anywhere in the Alchemist Class Description, as a "liquid." We don't know what it is, only that it is magic.

Extracts behave as spells in potion form. Potions are liquids. So if they behave as spells in potion form, they would need to be a liquid.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gauss wrote:


1) There is nothing in the Bestiary that states immunity to an energy type is a quality.

2) There is nothing in the Polymorph description that states lost physical abilities are qualities.

So all you are left with is any Special Qualities or abilities that define themselves as qualities. None of which are Immunity to Fire.

Summary: An Efreeti using Shape Change loses Immunity to Fire because it is not a physical quality but it is a physical ability and physical abilities are lost as per the Polymorph school.

Edit: an example of a physical quality that would be kept: Damage Reduction. This is because Damage Reduction (Bestiary p299) calls itself a quality.

Funny bit: (energy) Resistance (Bestiary p303) calls itself a quality while (energy) Immunity (Bestiary p301) does not.

The only problem I could see with this is that the fire immunity comes from the Fire subtype it possesses.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Change Shape wrote:
This ability functions as a polymorph spell, the type of which is listed in the creature’s description, but the creature does not adjust its ability scores (although it gains any other abilities of the creature it mimics). Unless otherwise stated, it can remain in an alternate form indefinitely. Some creatures, such as lycanthropes, can transform into unique forms with special modifiers and abilities. These creatures do adjust their ability scores, as noted in their descriptions.

There is the rest of the ability. It functions as a polymorph spell, but the creature retains its ability scores unless noted otherwise.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't believe you can kill it with poison as its death resistance causes it to automatically pass any save kill or permanently incapacitate it.

6 people marked this as a favorite.

From the combat section of Special Movement.

PRD wrote:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.

3 people marked this as a favorite.
thaX wrote:

As you keep going back to this, I have to say that ignoring the fact that the feat was only meant to be taken by the race itself just to look on the qualifier on the feat tab and not in the description (Fluff and rules) to see what else the feat builds on seems like saying "Well, the metamagic feat doesn't say I need to be able to cast magic to use it, so I should automatically get spells to use it with."

We both know that it doesn't work like that.

That's a fallacy. Nothing in a metamagic feat would lead to that conclusion. If Kitsune Magic was required for the feat, why wouldn't they have placed that requirement in it the same way that Heavenly Radiance has Daylight a prereq(I know Racial Heritage doesn't apply to Aasimar)? Because Magical Tail doesn't require it in order to function. Even if a Kitsune replaced Kitsune Magic, they could still benefit from Magical Tail.

There are several instances of feats from Advanced Race guide that require their race's spell-like ability racial in order to function. The fact that they omitted it from Magical Tail and from any errata they have put out for Advanced Race Guide.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Melkiador wrote:
I do wonder what happens when you animate its corpse. Does the undead gain the regeneration or does a living terrasque pop next to the undead one after 3 rounds.

I figure it would just regenerate over top of the skeleton and become a Tarrasque. Though an army of Tarrasque skeletons would be kind of cool.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

PFFFT! Just make super sneaky throwaway characters who have invested all of their money into Bags of Holding and Portable Holes. Then, every combat, just toss the Portable Hole into the Bag of Holding while surrounded by monsters. Continue this until your GM relents and stops breaking all of your stuff.

Wage war with your GM! Kill every Quest NPC! CHEESE HARD! FOR VICTORY!

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rynjin wrote:
Dafydd wrote:

How about this then, is an archer still an archer if he stops using a bow?

Can you really call yourself an assassin cleric of Norgorber if you stop doing assassinations and start using undead 90% of the time.


Why would you stop doing assassinations?

Hell, you'd be BETTER at it. Harder (if not impossible) to truly kill, paralyze people with a touch, and emit a presence so frightening that most normal people will be unable to fight back.

And then you take their corpse and reanimate it to kill more people.

It's a win-win.

Necromancers are really good at killing people. Lich necromancers even more so.

Not to mention the racial bonus to stealth, perception and sense motive and the availability of those 3 being class skills as well as Disguise and a few others. :D

1 person marked this as a favorite.
For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)"

They are both Cha bonuses. They don't stack.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can ignore the caster level requirement.

FAQ for Magic. Item Creation

The only required things you need are the feat and the spell for spell-trigger or spell completion items.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Pencils and papers are overpowered! EVERYONE MUST NOW WRITE IN BLOOD! The more you write, the less powerful the player becomes, till he passes out from blood loss!

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Faiths of Purity and Faiths of Balance(one for Abadar) have Codes of Conduct for paladins worshiping specific Deities(not all Gods have Paladin Orders in Golarion).

Also, a quote from JJ from 2011 where he says that paladins don't need gods.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Cthulhu Greater Dispel Magics you(along with all of your Explosive Runes while you're on your way). You explode. Cthulhu win.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Cthulhu Greater Dispel Magic's before you come in and then Quicken Feeblemind you, or watches as you explode from all of those Explosive Runes if he fails the check to dispel them.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

So I have a bit of a problem with using the Glabrezu detonating all of those Explosive Runes. Aside from Glabrezu not getting Greater Dispel Magic, how is he going to dispel all 700 of those runes? Are they all on 1 object or are they on separate objects? And what's to stop the first Explosive Rune exploding destroying the rest of the Explosive Runes?

1 person marked this as a favorite.

He isn't wielding a large two-handed weapon. He's wielding a large one handed weapon.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nevan Oaks wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
Just because it's a special case doesn't mean the same principal doesn't logically apply to other similar cases.

Great my players will love to use your logic at my table, since the lance is a special case which allows it to be wielded in one hand when mounted all two-handed weapons can be wielded in one hand when mounted.

You cannot apply a rule for a special case to other cases.

With that I will also hold that this is not a similar case, since a bastard sword is a one-handed weapon and an earthbreaker is a two-handed weapon.

A bastard sword is only a one-handed weapon for people with the Exotic Weapon Proficiency. It is not a one handed weapon as much as a greatsword is a one handed weapon to a person without the exotic weapon proficiency feat. Along with any other exotic weapons with the same restrictions as a bastard sword, such as the Dwarven Waraxe.

You normally cannot wield a Bastard Sword in one hand, thus you can't wield a large Bastard Sword. You normally can't wield a Earthbreaker in one hand, thus you can't wield a large Earthbreaker.

Two feats allow these items to be wielded as a one handed weapon. What we have is a ruling that without feat, a bastard sword cannot be used as a one handed weapon. The only thing that [bold]DOESN'T[/bold] change are Hit Points, Hardness, ability to be crafted out of special materials, category for using the Craft skill, effect of alchemical silver, and so on. Both of these cases are of a similar nature. Handedness is entirely relative to the person using it.

What we have here is precedence, which allows us to apply similar logic to similar cases, which is in no way similar as allowing all two handed weapons to be wielded one handed while mounted. If there were a feat or ability or some such that said "all two handed weapons function like a lance while mounted", you would have a point. If we used your logic here, all two handed weapons would also deal double damage on a mounted charge and Spirited Charge would apply to all weapons for X3 damage, which we know isn't true.

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Both spells deal with the weapon. Lead Blades increases the damage of the weapon by one size category larger than they actually are, so a medium weapon does damage as if it was one step larger. It doesn't make the weapon a large weapon. Impact does the same thing. It increases the damage of the weapon as if it were one size larger, so the medium weapon does large damage. Both of them are affecting the base weapon, not what the weapon may be doing.

2 people marked this as a favorite.

They still both increase what the base weapon. So even if they did stack, Impact takes the medium weapon to large, Lead Blades goes from the medium weapon to large.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think a large problem is that at some point hand stopped meaning an actual hand and some of us didn't get the message, which brings up some questions for me, such as what becomes of Free Hands.
1)Are Free Hands now a Free Primary or Off Hand or are they literal hands?
2)Does a person need two actual hands to shoot a bow?
3)How about holding an item?
4)Does using a two handed double weapon also eat up your offhand even if you only use one end? The Re-Gripping FAQ and this FAQ about THW and Armor Spikes would seem like it does, even if you don't get both attacks with it.
5) If I TWF with say a dagger and a blade boot can I also cast a quickened spell that requires Somatic Components?

I would like to know, as I would like to get a better knowledge of how this ruling works in case I ever get into Organized Play or something like that.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Both quotes I provided from James Jacob were about using the bastard sword. And I even mentioned that he wasn't a rules guy. The first quote I gave was a guy asking specifically what penalties he would take if he wielded it in one hand without the proficiency, which was replied with he couldn't. The second one was how Amiri was built and explaining the only way she could use the large bastard sword. They were addressing questions that were exactly similar to the OP, which was how can it be used, which is what we asked in the first place.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Beastiary 1. Craft Construct Feat.

Craft Construct (Item Creation)
You can create construct creatures like golems.
Prerequisites: Caster level 5th, Craft Magic Arms and
Armor, Craft Wondrous Item.
Benefit: You can create any construct whose
prerequisites you meet. The act of animating a construct
takes one day for each 1,000 gp in its market price. To
create a construct, you must use up raw materials costing
half of its base price, plus the full cost of the basic body
created for the construct. Each construct has a special
section that summarizes its costs and other prerequisites.
A newly created construct has average hit points for its
Hit Dice.

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Pretty sure babies hit at touch AC anyways, even if you didn't have a swarm of them. And then they could always just use their special vomit attack or fascinate on you. =P

1 person marked this as a favorite.
PRD wrote:
When an alchemist creates an extract or bomb, he infuses the concoction with a tiny fraction of his own magical power—this enables the creation of powerful effects, but also binds the effects to the creator.

Directly in the Alchemy Description, first paragraph. Bold emphasis is mine.