Cleru's page

Organized Play Member. 109 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 109 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Deighton Thrane wrote:


Second, it takes a while, but a level 14 cavalier with the Mounted Skirmisher feat can make all it's attacks as long as it's charge only takes a single move.

Mounted Skirmisher doesn't work with Mounted Charge anymore. Not after the faqs that said that both mount and rider have to be using Charge action to qualify for Mounted Charge.

Since the rider already use his full-round action on charge, he can't also be using it for full-attack.


I thought summon monster doesn't require Line of Sight (just like how Fireball doesn't require one) not vice versa.


Maybe it will work better if your GM allow you to cast Named Bullet on your sword?


TheOrcnextdoor wrote:
coup-de-grace isa full round action, and then you are only critting with your times X multiplier.

Throat Slicer turn it into standard action.


players who are "nigh on invincible gods of death" will probably has extend or constant Freedom of Movement on them...


Heroism Domain is pretty good. You get aura of Heroism, and touch of glory help with social situation (after level 5, +level bonus from touch of glory will probably beat +WIS bonus from conversion inquisition).

For combat, aim for a good teamwork feat combo.

Broken Wing Gambit > Paired oppotunist or Improved feint partner > Paired oppotunist is great.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Wicky1976 wrote:

Longspear is NOT on inquisitors weapon list however, that means that you need to dip or expend a feat to get a good reach weapon.

Longspear is a simple weapon. Inquisitor can use all simple weapon...


Speaking of Monster Tactician...

Can a Good Monster Tactician use their Summon Monster SLA to summon Evil creature?

Normally, you would thiunk that they can't, because "An inquisitor can’t cast spells of an alignment opposed to her own or her deity’s (if she has one). " rule.

But then we have faqs that say SLA isn't spell....


Prd wrote:

At 9th level, a psychic duelist can bring offensive manifestations directly into her foes' minds, attacking with them without entering a psychic duel.

When doing so, she can generate manifestation points only by sacrificing a spell, not through any other methods. Using an offensive manifestation in this way functions as casting a spell with a full-round-action casting time. Conditions imposed by these offensive manifestations last for their full duration, even though the target isn't in a psychic duel.

The psychic duelist can use manifestation amplifications on offensive manifestations created this way. Such offensive manifestations can't affect thought-form creatures. This is a mind-affecting illusion (phantasm) effect. A thoughtform creature manifested in this way is visible only to its target.

This ability replaces telepathic bond.

What happen when you choose to manifest thoughtform creature using this ability? Can the target even attack the thoughtform creature? (Actually... can Phantasm effect be attack or damage?)

Also what happen if you choose to augment your thoughtform creature with 2MP from Protective ability? Do you get immunity to AC attack from the target in the real world?

Prd wrote:

Protective Ability: Increase the cost by 1 MP to grant the creator a +4 bonus to AC (both normal and touch), a +2 bonus on Reflex saving throws, and evasion for as long as this thought-form creature exists. Increasing the cost by an additional 2 MP also grants the creator immunity to attacks against AC or touch AC for as long as this thought-form creature exists.


Rub-Eta wrote:

You could use that Ioun Stone to cast Mount. Or: If you're allowed, you could pick up the Unchained Rogue's Minor and Major Magic Talents (via the Rogue Talents Ninja Trick). Use Major Magic Talent to cast Mount.

If you don't want the Mount spell, there's also the Stone Horse and Obsidian Steed Figurine of Wondrous Power.
I'm sure I've seen another item that mimics the effect of the Carry Companion spell exactly, I think it's a bit more of a DM fiat item, though. I can't seem to find it.

You are probably thinking about metagame artifact "figurine of concealed companion".

For Renarin Kholin, what about this trait ? Free horse and ability to call it by whistling.


Enemies are already flat-footed if you can go first. Why would you needs to intimidate them?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Five CL1 wand of CLW will cost the same as one CL5 wand of CLW (1875gp).

Five CL1 wand of CLW will heal the average of 5.5*50*5 = 1375hp
One CL5 wand of CLW will heal the average of 9.5*50 = 475hp


This got me curious...

What happen if your Animal Guide take the form of Impundulu?

Since you don't have Improved Familiar feat.. Do they get full Impundulu power instead of acting as an imp or quasit..?


Being treated as summoned creature and being conjure with a summon spell is two different thing.

That is why Preservationist needs a special clause to allows it summoned creatures to benefit from augment summoning. Since they summoned creature from source that is not a spell.


I smell some Threadomancy magic. Also...

SLOBlues wrote:


Alright, now then, if we are going to Rules Lawyer, lets get the quotes right:

Eidolon wrote:
" A summoner can summon his eidolon in a ritual that takes 1 minute to perform. When summoned in this way, the eidolon hit points are unchanged from the last time it was dismissed or banished."
Augment Summoning wrote:
"Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it."


Might be worth it to list all the spells (UMD or otherwise) that affect Mystic Bolt damage too.

Something like Divine Favored,Good Hope etc.


Chess Pwn wrote:
It's using magical knack, which increases caster level by 2, if you are going to get a good boost from that trait, most people auto assume it.

Thanks!


BadBird wrote:

Sacred Fist 4 is exactly enough to get +3 Divine Favor...

I might be missing something here. Doesn't divine favor get the first improvement at level 6? So at caster level 4, it should be only +2 bonus with Fate's favored.


Dukai wrote:
where is that "see expanded summoning for clerics" information found? Also, does the celestial template add the good subtype to the creature? If so, a cleric following a NG diety should be able to summon as a standard action.

"Summoned by the faithful". Page 30 of Monster Summoner's Handbook. I don't thinks any online source have it listed yet.

Also, no. Celestial Template doesn't gives the subtype to creature.


FYI, Sound Striker's ability has changed .

Also why did you dip 3 level of rogue? Is there a particular ability or talent you are looking for?


nicholas storm wrote:
Not sure how you get into mystic theurge with only 1 level of cleric. SLAs don't count as spells anymore, so earliest entry into mystic theurge is after cleric 3 wizard 3 as far as I know.

Spirit Whisperer Wizard loophole?

Lore Spirit's Arcane Enlightenment hex let you pick up Sorc/Wiz spells and cast them as Divine spells.


kinevon wrote:
Shisumo wrote:
Psychic Disciple feat.
Note that this feat requires taking a couple of others, first: Psychic Sensitivity, Psychic Adept. Oh, and an Int of 11, which many Paladins wouldn't have.

I thought most Paladin will have 13 INT for Unsanctioned Knowledge.

I means... Smite Evil Sonic Thrust is pretty fun and less controversial than magic missile.


Hmm maybe go Psychic Detective? They use Psychic spell list, so you will have more Debuff and control spell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

For 1).. You can't do it like that.

Betrayal Feat Rule wrote:
Characters with class abilities granting allies access to teamwork feats (such as cavaliers or inquisitors) can select these teamwork feats normally, but allies who are granted these feats can use the feats only as initiators, not as abettors. An inquisitor could not grant an ally the Ally Shield feat and then use the ally as a shield, for example, but he could allow that ally to use him as a shield.

So it ironically becomes the opposite of betrayal.


The whole build also relying on GM fiat, since you can't take Eldritch Heritage: Sylvan according to this faqs. So I don't thinks it will works on PFS.


Nice Threadomancer. But next time you should conjure up a new thread like any respectable mage!

For level 20 Rogue : No. The feat gives you Sorcerer level to determine power but not Sorcerer class feature. It's the same reason why you don't get other Sorcerer class feature like Eschew Material, Bloodline feat, etc. from Eldritch Heritage. Spell list is a class feature just like those things.

For Level 19 Rogue / 1 Sorc : You probably could casts it using your Level 1 Sorcerer spell slot. So you can't actually cast any 2nd level spell or higher.

For Major Magic : I'm not 100% sure but the answer is probably no. SLA follows different rule than normal spell casting. You don't actually has access to spell list, and Rogue Talent only gives you the ability to casts that one spell you choose.


Is there a reason why you would take Summoner's Call feat, when you won't be using your Eidolon that much.


Claxon wrote:

No offense, but what are you talking about?

I thinks he's suggesting the OP to dip into 2 level of Rogue for Bomber Rogue Talent?

That talent use your Sneak Attack damage to determine bomb damage, so it should gives Vivisectionist a full bomb progression.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

My guess for AB would be... Attack Bonus?


I'm not sure what do you needs Quick Draw for at the current level, since you don't have iterative attack. Are you using your moving action for something? Drawing a weapon without Quick Draw is a move action that doesn't provoke AoO. You could also invest in Spiked Gauntlet or Cestus, They do 2 less average damage than the Morningstar but it's always on your hand.

For the vision issue... What about Nightdrops? It's 250gp for 5 uses of 1 hour long low-light vision.


What is your traits? You can get low-light vision with a Blood of Dragon race trait. But it's probably easier to buy ioun stone or cast light on your gears.

If you can convince your GM to allow you to change feats, I thinks you should get Augment Summoning first. It helps with your melee issue. At your current level, Augmented Small Earth Elemental's Slam will be +8 (1d6+11). This will also makes your creatures a bit more durable.

I feels like a lots of your character concept could benefit from utilizing your Summon Monster. Being a spell-like ability, it doesn't have verbal component, so it's like a silent spell. It's also a perfect tools for assassination, Summon Monster doesn't break your invisibility and there will be no evidence left when you send your creature back to the other planes.


Just going to throw PFS faqs out here.

FAQS wrote:
Casting an evil spell is not an alignment infraction in and of itself, as long as it doesn't violate any codes, tenents of faith, or other such issues. Committing an evil act outside of casting the spell, such as using an evil spell to torture an innocent NPC for information or the like is an alignment infraction. For example: using infernal healing to heal party members is not an evil act.

But I don't thinks PFS faqs count as RAW, so take that however you like.


Josh-o-Lantern wrote:


Do have to roll: Fighter, Rogue, Wizard, Paladins and Rangers of 3rd level or lower, ect...

Actually Paladins and Rangers don't have to roll since level 1.

prd wrote wrote:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.


There is a magic item called Assassin's sight from the same book. Maybe those are what you are looking for?


PRD Wrote wrote:

Concentration: The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.

You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.

I don't thinks Effortless Trickery change this rule.


How about Rapid Shot? It works for both bow and bomb (once you get fast bombs).

zainale wrote:

why not get two weapon fighting now so i can throw a frost bomb then follow it with a flask of acid or a tangle burn bag heck the ice should melt and cause the napalm to burn hotter.

Same reason that prevent you from using TWF with other SU ability like Hand of the Apprentice. Because creating and throwing bomb is its own standard action and not attack action.


Dr Styx wrote:
Where can I find theas rules?

Nice threadomancy

Anyway, you should check out Summon Guardian Spirit feat and Guardian Spirit template.


I thought Shadow Split's clones can only double move and do nothing else?

Also Ki Charge is a standard action to throw while Flurry of Stars only works with full-attack action, so I don't think those 2 tricks work together.


Velxir wrote:
Racial Heritage Tiefling gives you access to all the tiefling traits and feats

I don't thinks that would work. Tiefling are not Humanoid.


Around 200gp per bottle?


Alchemical cartridges + Rapid Reload.

Quote:
Alchemical cartridges make loading a firearm easier, reducing the time to load a firearm by one step (a full-round action becomes a standard action, a standard action becomes a move action, and a move action becomes a free action)


The "save DC is Constitution-based." means that the REF DC for the ability will goes up if the attacking creature has higher CON. If you wants to reverse engineer the process REF 14 DC came from 10 + 4 (half Golem HD) + 0 (CON).

Also check out Construct traits.

PRD wrote wrote:
Any DCs or other statistics that rely on a Constitution score treat a construct as having a score of 10 (no bonus or penalty).


Make sure you agree on how Thundercaller work (if someone choose that Archetype).

I had seen argument on how Thunder Call's DC work and also whether you can use one type of Bardic Performance multiple time per round.


I wonder if there is a way to make Sohei Monk works without having to rely on the campaign starting at higher level.

The lack of feats hurt but Flurry of Blow + Rapid Shot + Bombardment just sounds like fun.


Probably easier to do if you have access to magic. Lock Gaze, Compel Hostility, Command spells might be what you are looking for.

Another way is to use Solo Tactic / Fighter Tactic with Ally Shield feats. and let you ally use you as a shield.


Paulicus wrote:
What are the sources?

Advance Race Guide and Inner Sea Race

Cavall wrote:
I think someone covered this on a different thread and the answer was no. They were intended as two ways to the same end goal.

Ah, thank you. I found the post where Mark said it wouldn't work. That would teach me to use the traits as keyword instead of trying to search for Half-Orc discussion.


Just looking through half-orc alternate racial traits and I noticed that there are 2 ways for Half-Orc to get Skilled racial traits.

Quote:
Skilled: Second- and third-generation half-orcs often favor their human heritage more than their orc heritage. Half-orcs with this trait gain 1 additional skill rank per level. This racial trait replaces darkvision.
Quote:
Human-Raised: Some half-orcs raised as humans lack their cousins' ferocity and training in orc weapons, but pick up a bit of their human parents' skills. They gain the human's skilled racial trait. This racial trait replaces orc ferocity and weapon familiarity.

Both methods replace difference racial traits. So what happen if you decided to pick both Skilled and Human Raised?


Quote:
Bloodline Arcana: Your sorcerer spells and spell-like abilities count as psychic instead of arcane.

Unlike most Arcana, That can be use with any spell. Psychic Bloodline Arcana specifically state that it only works with Sorcerer Spell. So it might not work on your Arcanist at all.


Lemmy wrote:

On a separate note, now that Mysterious Stranger doesn't stack with Pistolero, it became a pretty bad archetype, since it can no longer add Dex to damage (only Cha, and at the cost of grit).

Gun Training is pretty much the only thing that makes Gunslingers worth taking levels in. So much so that the class is barely worth sticking with beyond level 5... Gunslinger 5/ Whatever 15 is almost always a better deal than Gunslinger 20.

(Inquisitor and Urban Barbarian are pretty good multiclass choices)

Wouldn't Mysterious Stranger get Dex to damage at level 9 since it's only replace Gun Training 1?


Okay. This might be a silly question and not really logical but I'm looking at Void Kineticist and I'm wondering...

What is the rule that makes Construct immune to Negative Energy?

Undead had the text saying that negative energy heal them in their traits. But constructs doesn't seems to have anything like that. The reason Channel Negative Energy doesn't work on them is because Channel energy says its only work on Living or Undead.

So.. Can you defy all common sense and use Negative Blast to hurt Construct by RAW?

1 to 50 of 109 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>