Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Masterwork Transformation is it permanent?


Rules Questions


just what i asked in the topic line


Yes


Yes, it's "instantaneous". It costs the same as having it made masterwork. It is intended to allow you to create masterwork items when you don't have access to crafting. But "instantaneous" effects are permanent.


Since it's instantaneous, it is not a permanent magical effect and thus cannot be dispelled. It just instantly and magically turns a regular item into a masterwork item.

An example of a permanent magical effect would be a Continual Flame spell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Basically what was said above. Effectively yes it is "permanent" but Instantaneous is "Permanent, but better" in this game.

Permanent means "This is an ongoing effect with Duration: Infinite but can be Dispelled or otherwise disabled".

Instantaneous means "It happened, it's done, all effects final. No take backsies.".


can it be used on the trait heirloom weapon trait which in a way can give you a non-masterwork weapon?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber Subscriber

You can get a weapon from Heirloom Weapon, then use Masterwork Transformation on it, yes. It's one of the best ways to use the spell, actually.


okay cool, just had to check thank you.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Masterwork Transformation is it permanent? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.