Question regarding the Writhing Arms action for the giant octopus


Rules Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Bestiary wrote:
The giant octopus makes up to four Strikes with different arms, each against a different target. Each attack counts separately for the octopus's multiple attack penalty, but the penalty doesn't increase the penalty until the octopus has made all the attacks.

My question pertains to the second sentence. I'm assuming "the penalty doesn't increase the penalty" is a typo, and the sentence is meant to read "the penalty doesn't increase until the octopus has made all the attacks." If read thus, does that mean that none of those four arm attacks takes a penalty to the attack roll? And if the giant octopus uses its final action to make a standard arm attack, then the -5 penalty would be applied to that attack roll?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Yes, the first four attacks would be all at MAP 0.

If the octopus spent its last action on another Strike, that would be at -10, not -5. The previous Strikes are all applied to MAP, not only one of them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Edit: Never mind. I forgot the penalty caps at -10. Thanks for the input.

Not -15? If the previous Strikes are all applied, wouldn't that be -5 for the second Strike, -10 for the third, and -15 for the fourth?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

MAP cap is -10.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Question regarding the Writhing Arms action for the giant octopus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.