Magus Eldritch Scion + Shapechanger Bloodline Spontaneous change


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition Subscriber

Eldritch scion let's me take a bloodline. "As a swift action, he can spend a point of eldritch energy to enter a state of mystical focus for 2 rounds. This allows him to use abilities from his bloodrager bloodline as though he were in a bloodrage, though he gains none of the other benefits or drawbacks of bloodraging."

It looks like from reading this I'm not "entering a bloodrage." Does that mean, if I take the shapechanger bloodline, I just don't get a level 4 bloodline ability?

Spontaneous Change (Sp): At 4th level, when entering a bloodrage, you can cast a transmutation spell that affects only you as a swift action, provided that the spell’s normal casting time is 1 round or shorter. The spell lasts for as long as you continue bloodraging, regardless of the spell’s normal duration. You can use this ability only to cast bloodrager spells you know.

Grand Lodge

Yup. That ability doesn't work with the Scion magus for two reasons- first because of what you stated- you're not entering a blood rage, you're using an ability that lets you treat as bringing in one for the bloodline abilities.
Second, you don't have two swift actions per round. You would need a swift action to use your ability, then another to use that particular ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Eldritch Scion + Shapechanger Bloodline Spontaneous change All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions