Can you summon a dragon and then Wild shape into a dragon?


Rules Discussion


still trying to understand how some of the rules work and was wondering if this was possible?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

yes druid with the appropriate feats and spells.

1st round
3 actions to cast summon dragon

2nd round
1 action sustain the summon dragon
2 actions wild shape or spell dragon Form

The summoned dragon will continue to need the sustain action to remain.


GlennH wrote:

yes druid with the appropriate feats and spells.

1st round
3 actions to cast summon dragon

2nd round
1 action sustain the summon dragon
2 actions wild shape or spell dragon Form

The summoned dragon will continue to need the sustain action to remain.

ty for the reply. can effortless concentration remove the need to use the sustain action?


Funnythinker wrote:
GlennH wrote:

yes druid with the appropriate feats and spells.

1st round
3 actions to cast summon dragon

2nd round
1 action sustain the summon dragon
2 actions wild shape or spell dragon Form

The summoned dragon will continue to need the sustain action to remain.

ty for the reply. can effortless concentration remove the need to use the sustain action?

Yep. It'll give you one free sustain per turn, which helps solve the challenge at high level.


Funnythinker wrote:
ty for the reply. can effortless concentration remove the need to use the sustain action?

Sort of, yes.

It doesn't remove the need to Sustain, it just gives you a free action each round to do it with. So you don't need to use one of your standard 3 actions each round doing Sustain.

At level below 16 or for classes that don't get access to that feat, Witch or Witch Archetype can get you Cackle, which can be used as many times as you have focus points for it. Though you probably can't cast it while polymorphed into Dragon Form.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yep, all of the above is totally legal.

As for myself, I like casting buffs before polymorphing. One of my favorites was repulsion. That way the enemies couldn't engage in melee while I used my dragon form's reach and breath weapon to rake them over the coals.

Cognates

Funnythinker wrote:
GlennH wrote:

yes druid with the appropriate feats and spells.

1st round
3 actions to cast summon dragon

2nd round
1 action sustain the summon dragon
2 actions wild shape or spell dragon Form

The summoned dragon will continue to need the sustain action to remain.

ty for the reply. can effortless concentration remove the need to use the sustain action?

I am going to be a pedant and point out it doesn't "remove" the sustain action, it just lets you sustain it as a free action. This is important to note if you're sustaining multiple spells in a round (which effortless concentration obviously makes much more viable).


Also, the sustain action does not interact with the battle form restrictions, even if read broadly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you summon a dragon and then Wild shape into a dragon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.