| Waldham |
Hello, I have questions about Swarm Eidolon from Battle Cry and Meld into Eidolon.
1/For example, a skill check about Knowledge, is it possible for a melded character into eidolon to make a skill check and the eidolon gives the information ?
2/For a swarm eidolon with Magical adept feat and the snake fangs spell, is it possible to use the swallow ability and grabbed a target ? (Is it only in condensed form ?)
3/With the spell, the opponent swallowed is also grabbed, slowed 1 and can suffocate ?
4/For a swarm eidolon, the weakness is only area effect, not splash damage ?
5/ Eidolon's opportunity is useful only in condensed form ?
Thanks for your future answer.
| Finoan |
I can only see the Meld into Eidolon rules currently. But most of these questions look like they would apply to any Eidolon. Or at least don't need the specific rules text for Swarm Eidolon.
1/For example, a skill check about Knowledge, is it possible for a melded character into eidolon to make a skill check and the eidolon gives the information ?
The Summoner can't act. So they can't use the Recall Knowledge action or make the check. The Eidolon can use the action and make the check. And since Eidolons know all the languages that the Summoner knows then they can announce the results that they know.
2/For a swarm eidolon with Magical adept feat and the snake fangs spell, is it possible to use the swallow ability and grabbed a target ?
The Summoner would need to be able to cast Rank 6 spells since Snake Fangs is minimum Rank 4. Mechanically there is nothing wrong with the Eidolon using the spell though. Unless there is something specific in Swarm Eidolon that says that they can't. Probably something about Swarm Eidolon not being able to make Grapple attacks or something.
It does look a bit strange to describe. So I can understand people wanting to forbid the interaction from working regardless of what the mechanics of the rules say.
3/With the spell, the opponent swallowed is also grabbed, slowed 1 and can suffocate ?
Yes. The spell actually transports the target creature to an extradimensional space that looks like a snake's belly. The details of the caster are not relevant.
4/For a swarm eidolon, the weakness is only area effect, not splash damage ?
That one I can't see yet. It would be strange if it was only one. The Swarm trait mentions both.
5/ Eidolon's opportunity is useful only in condensed form ?
I can't see that one yet either.
| Lia Wynn |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
A quick reminder for questions from Battlecry! is that it does not go street live until July 31. If you are a subscriber, you get the PDF early when the physical book ships, but for many of us, we can't get the book until the 31st, so you may want to hold questions on it for a week or so. That way, more people actually have the book and can chime in.
| Perses13 |
To follow up Finoan:
2. There's nothing in Swarm Eidolon to forbid this from what I can tell. Dispersed Form Eidolon can't make Strikes, but Swallow Whole doesn't make a Strike, its an action that has the attack trait. Its an interesting interaction for sure, but you'd need to be level 11 for reasons Finoan mentioned. Also the size limitations of Swallow Whole still apply.
4. Yes, I don't see any mention of weakness to Splash for Swarm Eidolons. The swarm trait says that "typically" a swarm may have weakness to splash but that's not a hard rule enforced by the trait.
5. That seems correct to me since Swarm Eidolon's dispersed form can't make Strikes and Eidolon's Opportunity makes a Strike.
| Waldham |
If the swarm eidolon has grabbed an opponent in condensed form, and then switched in dispersed form, does the opponent lose the grabbed condition ?
Swallow ability has the attack trait.
The monster attempts an Athletics check opposed by the target's Reflex DC.
So, the spell DC for Reflex DC ?
For the Escape DC, is it spell DC or Athletics DC ?
A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less. The swallowing creature is off-guard against the attack. If the monster takes piercing or slashing damage equaling or exceeding the listed Rupture value from a single attack or spell, the swallowed creature cuts itself free. A creature that gets free by either Escaping or cutting itself free can immediately breathe and exits the swallowing monster's space.
If the monster dies, a swallowed creature can be freed by creatures adjacent to the corpse if they spend a combined total of 3 actions cutting the monster open with a weapon or unarmed attack that deals piercing or slashing damage.
So for the rupture damage, is it the AC from eidolon swarm ?
| YuriP |
Nothing states that a Dispersed Form can't grab. It can't Strike only. This doesn't prevent it to use other attack roll or attack trait actions/activities.
Dispersed Form: When dispersed, your eidolon scatters its component bodies across a wider area, increasing its size by one category (to Large for most swarm eidolons). It has a reach of 0 feet, can’t make Strikes, and can occupy the same space as other creatures. While dispersed, it can use the Swarming Assault activity
The Snake Fangs doesn't use your spell DC for nothing. It only gives a grapple trait to your fangs unarmed attack. This means that when your eidolon use its Athletics to use the Grapple action against a target, it can use the item bonus of its attacks to this Grapple roll. Nothing more, nothing less.
So after your eidolon have succeeded grab an enemy using its Grapple action. Snake Fangs allows this Eidolon to use Swallow Whole against it no mater what the form your eidolon currently have because Swallow Whole also is not a Strike nor use Strike as subordinated action. This action also uses your eidolon Athletics vs enemy Reflex DC as normal.
Escape DC also doesn't change at all.
And yes as normal to rupture a creature still need to hit its attacks normally vs Eidolon AC.
| QuidEst |
If a summoner takes the Hulking and Towering Size, does the condensed form have a Large and Huge size and the dispersed form a Huge and Gargantuan size ?
With magical understudy/adept/master, can an eidolon choose an uncommon or rare spell ?
Yep!
Same restrictions as uncommon and rare spells for casters, probably.
| Finoan |
ok. Is it possible for an eidolon to take an heigthened spell ?
Yes. As long as they have the spell slot needed to cast it with.
So if they have a Rank 2 spell slot, they can certainly learn a Heightened Rank 2 version of a Rank 1 spell to put in repertoire for that. Or learn as an innate spell since I think that is how Eidolons learn spells.