
TRPGinger |

Sorry if this has already been discussed somewhere (I haven't found any in what searching I did), but is there a reason why in both the "Arcane" and "Primal" magic traditions, the "Grease" spell appears as both a 1st rank and 3rd rank spell. I know each has a different short description, the 1st rank being a target or area while the 3rd saying a surface or object, but the spell only pops up once in the more detailed alphabetical list of spells, as the rank 1 spell.
I might just be missing something, but it's something I noticed while making my favorite little wizard in the remastered rules. ^^

The Ronyon |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Oh gods no!
Avoid Grease 2! Awful!
The original Grease is a classic! Great score, Olivia Newton John, wonderful!
But Grease 2? I mean, I love Michelle Pfeiffer, but the movie is an abomination!
How can you...Huh? ...What?... Ooooohhhh...Never mind.
What are you on about?
No one can beat lyric like these!"[BOYS (& GIRLS)]
Reproduction (reproduction!)
[FRANCINE]
Put your pollen tube to work
[BOYS (& GIRLS)]
Reproduction (reproduction!)
[GIRL #1]
Make my stamen go berserk
[BOYS]
Reproduction
[GIRL #2]
I don't think they even know what a pistil is
[BOY #3]
I got your pistil right here
[MR. STUART]
Where does the pollen go?"

Easl |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |
Is this in Player Core 1?
Yes, the misprint is in PC1.
If you look up the spell on page 331, there is only one entry and it's for a rank 1 spell. So far so good. But if you look on pages 304-305 (arcane list of spells) and 312 (primal list of spells), it does indeed show up twice, once for rank 1 and once for rank 3.
So the error is systematic. No word on if it's hydromatic...

Eoran |

But if you look on pages 304-305 (arcane list of spells) and 312 (primal list of spells), it does indeed show up twice, once for rank 1 and once for rank 3.
Is it the same spell in both printings? Grease does not appear to have any heightened effect, so I do not see any reason why it would have a different spell Rank for different traditions. Most likely the Rank 3 version is misprinted.

Easl |
Easl wrote:But if you look on pages 304-305 (arcane list of spells) and 312 (primal list of spells), it does indeed show up twice, once for rank 1 and once for rank 3.Is it the same spell in both printings?
Well it's a spell list, not a spell description, so the only thing you get is the name and about 5 words of description. But the entries are duplicated I.e. on the Arcana list the same wording shows up in both the rank 1 and rank 3 lists, and in Primal it shows up in both the rank 1 and rank 3 lists.
So yes, misprint.