
Ravingdork |

If I'm playing a Large character with a Large backpack, such as a minotaur, can that backpack carry more gear?
In other words, if a normal backpack allows you to ignore 2 Bulk, and can hold as much as 4.9 Bulk, can a Large backpack allow a Large character to ignore 4 Bulk and hold as much as 8.9 Bulk?

Finoan |

I think the general RAI is best described here in Items of Different Sizes
Because the way that a creature treats Bulk and the Bulk of gear sized for it scale the same way, Tiny or Large (or larger) creatures can usually wear and carry about the same amount of gear as a Medium creature.
IMHO, in general the equipment differences for different sized creatures can mostly be handwaved away. Yes, the differences exist and can have an impact on the narrative, but it shouldn't have too much impact on the game mechanics balance between characters. Large size creatures shouldn't be paying a huge amount extra for equipment sized for them or have to go through difficulties finding the equipment that they need. They also shouldn't be gaining an advantage or suffering a disadvantage to the amount of equipment that they can carry.

thenobledrake |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |
It's a "yes, but also no" kind of situation.
Your large backpack still only ignores 2 bulk and can't carry 5 bulk, but there's a good chance the items you're putting in that pack are ending up with their bulk classification altered because you're a large creature.
For example, the standard adventurer's pack; the backpack itself, bedroll, rations, waterskin, and arguably the soap would be scaled to your size and thus take the same equivalent of bulk as medium-scaled items would for a medium character, but the chalk, flint and steel, rope, and torches don't need to be large sized so they would be considered negligible to you even if they wouldn't normally be considered that for a medium character.
Then when you go putting other stuff in you follow that same procedure, so while a medium creature's backpack could be stuffed to the brim with 49 potions, a large creature's backpack could hold however many the GM decides to be willing to allow because their bulk would each be "-" rather than "L" since they don't need to be scaled to the size of the creature using them.

YuriP |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Exactly!
You large backpack still ignores 2 bulks. But you consider items for medium and smaller creatures as smaller like is described in Bulk Conversions for Different Sizes rules.
So your large backpack consider that it can carry 2 bulk of items for you. But items that have Bulk 1 for medium creatures is considered as Light Bulk for you and your Backpack while Items that are light for medium creatures are negligible for you and your large backpack (you don't even need to put then in your backpack). Items that have 2 bulks or more for medium creatures are still considered having 2 bulks or more for you and your backpack too.
So you can carry 20 medium sized long swords in your backpack without count for your currently bulk because they are considered as light for you or only one medium sized Longspear because it's 2 bulks for medium creatures and for you too.

YuriP |

The same number that fit into a medium size backpack. None!
Backpacks can carry up to 4 Bulks and Medium creature occupies 6 Bulks. A large creature considers bulk 1 things as light but bulk 2 or more are counted as normal for them. So a bulk 6 creature doesn't fit into a backpack even if it's large because a large creature still considers it as 6 bulk.

The Ronyon |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |

The same number that fit into a medium size backpack. None!
Backpacks can carry up to 4 Bulks and Medium creature occupies 6 Bulks. A large creature considers bulk 1 things as light but bulk 2 or more are counted as normal for them. So a bulk 6 creature doesn't fit into a backpack even if it's large because a large creature still considers it as 6 bulk.
Sounds like a 6 bulk that is uh, "divided" into into 1 bulk pieces,will fit into a Large sized backpack with room to spare...

graystone |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

The real question :how many Medium sized creatures can one fit into a Large sized backpack??
Asking for a friend...
The question should be how many medium sized creatures that are carrying the max number of small creatures that are carrying the max number of tiny creatures can a large PC carry and what can each creature hold in their individual backpacks. ;)

YuriP |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

YuriP wrote:Sounds like a 6 bulk that is uh, "divided" into into 1 bulk pieces,will fit into a Large sized backpack with room to spare...The same number that fit into a medium size backpack. None!
Backpacks can carry up to 4 Bulks and Medium creature occupies 6 Bulks. A large creature considers bulk 1 things as light but bulk 2 or more are counted as normal for them. So a bulk 6 creature doesn't fit into a backpack even if it's large because a large creature still considers it as 6 bulk.
Yeah in pieces everything becomes easier to carry. So yeah you can cut "livestock" in pieces to carry or that dead character to resurrect later :P

Gisher |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

You could carry ... infinite medium daggers.
Not an infinite number of daggers. There are reasonable limits even with negligible bulk items.
Items of negligible Bulk don’t count toward Bulk unless you try to carry vast numbers of them, as determined by the GM.

Ravingdork |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Cordell Kintner wrote:You could carry ... infinite medium daggers.Not an infinite number of daggers. There are reasonable limits even with negligible bulk items.
PC1, pg. 269 wrote:Items of negligible Bulk don’t count toward Bulk unless you try to carry vast numbers of them, as determined by the GM.
Please don't share that with any of my GMs or with the Pathfinder Society Venture Captains.
People have come to love my 200+ pints of oil antics oh so much.

Gisher |

Gisher wrote:Cordell Kintner wrote:You could carry ... infinite medium daggers.Not an infinite number of daggers. There are reasonable limits even with negligible bulk items.
PC1, pg. 269 wrote:Items of negligible Bulk don’t count toward Bulk unless you try to carry vast numbers of them, as determined by the GM.Please don't share that with any of my GMs or with the Pathfinder Society Venture Captains.
People have come to love my 200+ pints of oil antics oh so much.
LOL!