Wands and the Daily Renewal of Long Duration Spells


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Is it possible to renew a long duration spell each day using a wand?

The rules for long duration spells refer to spell slots, making no mention of alternative forms of spellcasting, such as wands. Is there anything indicating that this is possible?

If it is possible, would it matter if I alternated between wands, slots, and other sources of spells from day to day?

If it is not explicitly stated in the rules as being possible, do you think there should be a rule to allow the extension of long duration spells via wands and/or other alternative means? Would you permit it in games that you run?

In particular, I'm wondering about a wand of disguise magic, which would be used to mask a modify memory spell cast upon an individual that I likely would not have access to after the initial casting.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Well, the rule text does pretty clearly cover this case.

Long Duration Spells wrote:
You can’t do this if the spell didn’t come from one of your spell slots.

As a GM I would probably allow recasting the wand as part of daily preparations in order to do the same thing. But not mix and match with spell slot one day and wand the next.

But only because of that sentence. It wouldn't be hard to convince me to houserule it so that you could mix and match if needed.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I don’t think so, because the duration rule specifies spell slot which wands don’t interact with. The same reason you couldn’t shift it off to a scroll either.

As a GM, I’d require the spell to be coming from a spell slot.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Finoan wrote:

Well, the rule text does pretty clearly cover this case.

Long Duration Spells wrote:
You can’t do this if the spell didn’t come from one of your spell slots.

Oh wow. I totally missed that line.

Funny how they chose to bury something that important in a sea of text. You'd think it would be emphasized in some way.


Ravingdork wrote:
Funny how they chose to bury something that important in a sea of text. You'd think it would be emphasized in some way.

Logical marking/layout is not their style in general. Only bare minimum like degrees of success and targets are marked. Well, you know it yourself.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Feels weird to me that you can sustain spells with multiple castings without being anywhere near the actual spell itself. Not saying that it's not allowed by the rules, the rules say nothing about distance from the spell, it just feels unintended given most long-term spells affect the caster or someone nearby they'd have ready access to.

Grand Archive

I actually haven't seen this rule until now. I'm wondering now if there's a practical difference between this and just casting the spell again after preparation.


Powers128 wrote:
I actually haven't seen this rule until now. I'm wondering now if there's a practical difference between this and just casting the spell again after preparation.

I think it is new wording/mechanics in Player Core.

The difference would be up to an hour each day during daily preparations when the old casting of the spell ends, but you don't have your spell preparation/wand/staff charges available to cast it again.

Depending on the spell that may be inconsequential, or potentially catastrophic.

Mystic Armor would probably fall into the inconsequential level unless the GM is going to ambush the party during their daily preparations. Which I wouldn't recommend doing.

Mirage would be more of a problem if the intent of the spell is to set up an area that fools people for more than a day. When the resort oasis in the desert turns back into desert for 15 minutes every morning, people (even lower level people who typically fail all of their saves against the spell effect) are bound to get suspicious.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

With a spell like modify memory or dominate, recasting it would allow a new save. Just expending the slot keeps it going indefinitely, even if you are nowhere near the target.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
Finoan wrote:

Well, the rule text does pretty clearly cover this case.

Long Duration Spells wrote:
You can’t do this if the spell didn’t come from one of your spell slots.

Oh wow. I totally missed that line.

Funny how they chose to bury something that important in a sea of text. You'd think it would be emphasized in some way.

This is one of the reasons I try to 'copy and paste' the relevant rule into my own posts: About half the time, I discover that the answer is actually spelled out and I just missed it somehow...


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Finoan wrote:
I think it is new wording/mechanics in Player Core.

Looks like it was in the Core Rulebook as well.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I think it's deliberate decision to require slots as opposed to items.

If it was items, one could relegate the permanence to a gp cost (the cost of the appropriate wand) as opposed to spending one of your own resources.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Finoan wrote:
... unless the GM is going to ambush the party during their daily preparations. Which I wouldn't recommend doing.

And if you *do* decide to do that, be prepared to get into the nitty gritty about who is doing what during the various watches throughout the night FOREVER.

shroudb wrote:

I think it's deliberate decision to require slots as opposed to items.

If it was items, one could relegate the permanence to a gp cost (the cost of the appropriate wand) as opposed to spending one of your own resources.

I agree with shroudb. The design thought process was likely along those lines.

It probably is reasonable to handwave if a player really wanted to, though, since wands are pricy and there aren't *that* many long duration spells you'd care about. It'd also be reasonable to disallow it because you want them to feel the slot cost.


Ravingdork wrote:
Finoan wrote:
I think it is new wording/mechanics in Player Core.
Looks like it was in the Core Rulebook as well.

Ah. Yes it is. Page 305.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Errenor wrote:
Logical marking/layout is not their style in general. Only bare minimum like degrees of success and targets are marked. Well, you know it yourself.

To be fair, in the playtest they were trying to use simpler, clearer and more rules focused language... and a large enough majority of people really hated it to get them to change to more "natural" language, which is significantly more work to maintain consistency in.

Not that it was perfect in the playtest either, but that paizo was actually dissuaded from going further down that route.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Wands and the Daily Renewal of Long Duration Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.