
Blave |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

How do they interact? Animists are both Prepared and Spontaneous casters and staves work differently for both types. Can an Animst just use both versions of casting from Staves?
And if they use the spontaneous version, can they use their spell slots to power all divine spells or only those that are in their repertoire?

![]() |
Gut check, without digging into rules text... The prepared slots are the ones that belong to the Animist. The spontaneous slots are from the apparitions who don't attune to the staff ifself. So I would treat them as prepared casters.
Barring something official from Paizo to the contrary, this is how I would rule at my table. You, the animist, are a prepared spell caster and the one preparing the staff, so it would work like a prepared staff. Your spirits give you the spontaneous spells, so they're immaterial in this process.

![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

The Animist is the one casting the spell whether prepared or spontaneous. I see nothing in the description separating them from Prepared casters for the spells they prepare nor from Spontaneous casters for the spells coming from their Repertoire.
So, they can choose whichever method they prefer.
And they can use the Activating staff benefit of the Spontaneous caster since they are one too.

Unicore |

Clarity on how the animist interacts with spell casting items will be good, but it was probably necessary to test the borrowed spells idea first, and see what players try to do.
I think figuring out if the spell is the animist’s or the apparition is part of the problem, but there is also the fact that the spells on the animists list can change in the middle of the day. What if I have a staff all charged up, and then lose the ability to cast those spells? Will I essentially have the ability to cast any spell of any scroll every morning and then change out?
These aren’t huge problems but they will be confusing pain points at many tables if they aren’t clarified.

![]() |

Clarity on how the animist interacts with spell casting items will be good, but it was probably necessary to test the borrowed spells idea first, and see what players try to do.
I think figuring out if the spell is the animist’s or the apparition is part of the problem, but there is also the fact that the spells on the animists list can change in the middle of the day. What if I have a staff all charged up, and then lose the ability to cast those spells? Will I essentially have the ability to cast any spell of any scroll every morning and then change out?
These aren’t huge problems but they will be confusing pain points at many tables if they aren’t clarified.
How can you lose the ability to cast from a staff ?
Same for the scroll example. I honestly do not understand what you refer too.

Blave |

Casting the spells already in your repertoire with the spontaneous staff use would be pointless since it still costs you the same spell slot - in addition to one charge.
If the animist can use staves like other spontaneous casters, the big question is: Does this work for all divine spell? Staves are usually a good way to basically extend the repertoire of spontaneous casters because it allows them to cast all spells of their tradtion from spell slots. Can the Animist do this as well?
All this assuming Staves don't change significantly in the remaster, of course.

RexAliquid |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

How do they interact? Animists are both Prepared and Spontaneous casters and staves work differently for both types. Can an Animst just use both versions of casting from Staves?
And if they use the spontaneous version, can they use their spell slots to power all divine spells or only those that are in their repertoire?
Staves work differently, but complementary for prepared/spontaneous casters. In fact, it is already possible to be both a prepared and a spontaneous caster via archetype. It is not an either/or situation. Both is entirely reasonable. The animist is no different and can use staves both ways from level 1.

breithauptclan |

If the animist can use staves like other spontaneous casters, the big question is: Does this work for all divine spell? Staves are usually a good way to basically extend the repertoire of spontaneous casters because it allows them to cast all spells of their tradtion from spell slots. Can the Animist do this as well?
Well, since the Apparition spells are still Divine tradition... yes. But it won't do what you may expect.
You can use Steward of Stone and Fire to get Fireball on your Repertoire. And you could use your ability to cast Fireball to prepare a Staff of Fire (greater). But that wouldn't let you cast Flaming Sphere from the staff because it is not a Divine spell that you have access to cast.
And as has been mentioned, if you use Fly on Shadowed Wings to get a fly speed by dispersing Steward o Stone and Fire, then you no longer have access to Fireball. I'm not sure if you can cast Fireball from the staff at that point or not.