| Dragonhearthx |
I am confused about the forked bipod . It seems to me that I spend one action to "attach" it to the firearm then the kickback trait is just effectively gone. Am I missing something?
| breithauptclan |
The Kickback trait has the rest of the story.
Firing a kickback weapon gives a –2 circumstance penalty to the attack roll, but characters with 14 or more Strength ignore the penalty. Attaching a kickback weapon to a deployed bipod, tripod, or other stabilizer can lower or negate this penalty.
So characters with strength less than +2 can use a bipod to remove the circumstance penalty and still get the benefits of Kickback trait.
| Dragonhearthx |
The Kickback trait has the rest of the story.
Quote:Firing a kickback weapon gives a –2 circumstance penalty to the attack roll, but characters with 14 or more Strength ignore the penalty. Attaching a kickback weapon to a deployed bipod, tripod, or other stabilizer can lower or negate this penalty.So characters with strength less than +2 can use a bipod to remove the circumstance penalty and still get the benefits of Kickback trait.
and what is "deployed" mean? I've read all of what you said before but I am still confused what I actually have to do mechanically.
| Ezekieru |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Lurker in Insomnia wrote:Interact with the Forked Bipod and it turns into a bipod and not a weapon. Basically you shove it into the ground and use the other end to stabilize your firearm.does that require an action? Because according to the item description it has no such action requirements.
"A forked bipod can be deployed or retrieved for use as a melee weapon as an Interact action."
An Interact action is a single action, unless stated otherwise by the item or ability.
| Dragonhearthx |
Dragonhearthx wrote:Lurker in Insomnia wrote:Interact with the Forked Bipod and it turns into a bipod and not a weapon. Basically you shove it into the ground and use the other end to stabilize your firearm.does that require an action? Because according to the item description it has no such action requirements."A forked bipod can be deployed or retrieved for use as a melee weapon as an Interact action."
An Interact action is a single action, unless stated otherwise by the item or ability.
Not what I meant.
| Lurker in Insomnia |
You Interact with the forked bipod to change functionality from a stabby thing to a gun support or back again.
Interact
[one-action]
Manipulate
Source Core Rulebook pg. 470 4.0
You use your hand or hands to manipulate an object or the terrain. You can grab an unattended or stored object, open a door, or produce some similar effect. You might have to attempt a skill check to determine if your Interact action was successful.
The game doesn't need the symbol every time it mentions an interact action. Just saying Interact implies that it takes one-action to complete.
| Dragonhearthx |
The forked bipod isn't attached to the gun, its either in your hand for you to stab people with it, or you've set it up as a bipod to use to negate kickback. You use an action to set it up as a bipod or pick it up again.
So the item description that says "Developed by Alkenstar scouts who often don't have time to break down a tripod" doesn't mean anything, since you still have to spend an action to set it up and another action to take it down so you can move.
Maybe if you guys read tripod , you will understand what I am talking about.
| Ruzza |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Okay, guys. I am trying to figure out. Setting up a tripod, to negate the knockback, is a single action. Does this bipod require the same thing? Is just having the bipod on the firearm negate the knockback?
The bipod is not "attached" to the gun, you spend an action to deploy it or an action to retrieve it. It's just like the tripod, except it can be wielded much like you would a dagger. The question has been answered multiple times, but you seem to still have some confusion?
| Dragonhearthx |
Dragonhearthx wrote:Okay, guys. I am trying to figure out. Setting up a tripod, to negate the knockback, is a single action. Does this bipod require the same thing? Is just having the bipod on the firearm negate the knockback?The bipod is not "attached" to the gun, you spend an action to deploy it or an action to retrieve it. It's just like the tripod, except it can be wielded much like you would a dagger. The question has been answered multiple times, but you seem to still have some confusion?
Because of the item description.
"...who often don't have time to break down a tripod..."This suggests that it doesn't require an action to break down in order to move it.
So if I want to use it I have to spend 1 action to deploy it and if I want to move I have to spend another action to take it down and another action to move. Right? You keep saying "deployed" but not addressing the core of the problem.
| WatersLethe |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Ruzza wrote:Unfortunately, that has nothing to do with the actual rules of the item.So there is no mechanical difference between bipod and tripod. (Ignoring the weapon aspect). Damn. Well there goes that idea.
Incorrect, the bipod is also itself a weapon which, when interacted with to retrieve, gives you an actively wielded melee weapon you can use to defend yourself when beset by monsters.
This allows you to circumvent an additional action to draw a separate weapon when the situation calls for it.
| Dragonhearthx |
Dragonhearthx wrote:
So there is no mechanical difference between bipod and tripod. (Ignoring the weapon aspect). Damn. Well there goes that idea.Incorrect, the bipod is also itself a weapon which, when interacted with to retrieve, gives you an actively wielded melee weapon you can use to defend yourself when beset by monsters.
This allows you to circumvent an additional action to draw a separate weapon when the situation calls for it.
So saying "ignoring the weapon aspect" means nothing to you.
FORGET THAT IT IS A WEAPON FOR THE MOMENT. Is it the same as a tripod?
So I have to take an action to set it up and another action to take it down so I can move. YES or NO?!