A number of questions / rules clarifications for the Animist


Animist Class Discussion


Page 6. Apparition's Possession makes you immune to control effects "unless its spell [u]rank[/u] is [u]more than twice your level[/u]." This must be a typo, yes?

Page 8. Does Apparition Sense detect creatures through barriers? What about the ethereal plane?

Page 8. Does Spiritual Expansion Spell's ability to increase the radius of an emanation spell by 5 feet stack with itself? Can an apparition do it multiple times?

Page 9-10. Blazing Spirit doesn't indicate what its resistance applies to. I assume it's fire resistance, yes?

Page 10. Spirit Walk says that the party doesn't trigger reactions from haunts and spirits. Does this mean complex-hazard haunts never start?

Page 11. Banish Falsehoods of Flesh: You "attempt a Religion check to counteract a [u]polymorph effect currently affecting a creature you are aware of within 30 feet.[/u]" Must you be aware of the [u]polymorph effect[/u], or of the [u]creature[/u]?

Page 14. Earth's Bile does 1d4 fire damage and 1d4 bludgeoning damage. It also does persistent fire damage on a successful save. What saving throw does it call for? And I'm assuming it's a basic save?

Thanks in advance! This is an exciting class!


The Rot Grub "The Rules Lawyer" wrote:
Page 6. Apparition's Possession makes you immune to control effects "unless its spell [u]rank[/u] is [u]more than twice your level[/u]." This must be a typo, yes?

Yes. Michael Sayre already explained this in another topic.

The Rot Grub "The Rules Lawyer" wrote:
Page 14. Earth's Bile does 1d4 fire damage and 1d4 bludgeoning damage. It also does persistent fire damage on a successful save. What saving throw does it call for? And I'm assuming it's a basic save?

It uses the new remastered spell stat block. The save is in the Defense line of the block.


blazing spirit read like it give resistance to all damage

earth bile say Defense basic Reflex


Can earth bile be sustained for damage the round it is cast? The language is less precise than that used for other spells like flaming sphere.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No spell can be sustained in same round it casted.


Yeah you're all right on Earth's Bile, just found it myself!


Where's it say you can't sustain on the same turn? That's something I'll want to have on hand in general.


YuriP wrote:
No spell can be sustained in same round it casted.

I don't think that is actually a rule.

The requirements are just that you have an effect that you can sustain and are not fatigued.

There are spells, like Spiritual Weapon, that are intended to allow sustaining repeatedly each round. You can attack three times per round with Spiritual Weapon. You should be allowed to cast it for two actions and then sustain it for your third.

However,

gesalt wrote:
Can earth bile be sustained for damage the round it is cast?

Sort-of, yes. But it won't do what you want. Because of the word 'thereafter'.

Earth Bile wrote:
When you Cast this Spell, and the first time you Sustain it each round thereafter

You can sustain it the same round that it is cast, but it won't repeat the effect again during that round because it was not sustained 'thereafter' of the round that it was cast.


breithauptclan wrote:
There are spells, like Spiritual Weapon, that are intended to allow sustaining repeatedly each round. You can attack three times per round with Spiritual Weapon. You should be allowed to cast it for two actions and then sustain it for your third.

Or use Quickened Casting to cast it for one action, sustain it twice with your other two actions of the round, and sustain once more with Cackle to get four attacks in the first round.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Eoran wrote:
Or use Quickened Casting to cast it for one action, sustain it twice with your other two actions of the round, and sustain once more with Cackle to get four attacks in the first round.

Are you a complete psychopath? The amount of resource waste on that idea is astonishing.


I am not recommending it as a good use of resources. Just mentioning that it is possible.

It doesn't seem any more wasteful than using Cackle and Effortless Concentration to have four summoning spells active at once.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am admittedly playing with differences in text with things like flaming sphere which is very explicit about it only working on subsequent rounds while bile can be read such that thereafter refers to any round any point after the initial cast which includes the round it is cast.

It's an easy clarification (just copy/paste flaming sphere) but it's worth pointing out because people like me exist.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / War Of Immortals Playtest / Animist Class Discussion / A number of questions / rules clarifications for the Animist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Animist Class Discussion