
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Now that I have my PDF of Treasure Vault, I had a question about the new Gauntlet Bow weapon: It has the free-hand trait, BUT specifically noted you can't reload it with the hand you're wielding it with. But hypothetically, if you had two gauntlet bows, one on each hand, could you use the free hands to reload the gauntlet bow on the opposite hand, or would they cancel each other out, meaning you couldn't reload either of them? I find the idea of dual-wielding gauntlet bows kind of cool, but I can easily see a GM saying, "That is what we in the business call 'sillysauce.'"

shroudb |
graystone wrote:You can use the free-hand to reload the other weapon without issue: IE, you can use your right free hand to reload your left bow.Capacity doesn't need a free hand to reload though right?
it doesnt need a hand to switch barrels, it still needs a hand to reload (put new bolts in)

graystone |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

graystone wrote:You can use the free-hand to reload the other weapon without issue: IE, you can use your right free hand to reload your left bow.Capacity doesn't need a free hand to reload though right?
Incorrect: you don't need a free hand to select the next loaded barrel or chamber but to Reload, you need he free hand. This means that a Gauntlet Bow can be fired 4 times without needing a hand, but then needs to start reloading barrels/chambers.
PS: ninja'd!

Gisher |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

For easy reference.
Capacity
Weapons that have the capacity trait typically have multiple barrels or chambers capable of containing a round of ammunition.
Capacity is always accompanied by a number indicating the number of barrels or chambers.
After a capacity weapon is fired, you can select the next loaded barrel or chamber as an Interact action that doesn't require a free hand.
Each barrel or chamber can be reloaded after it's fired as a separate Interact action.

![]() |

I don't see why you would think that using a free hand to reload a weapon on your other hand would be a problem. What rules even suggest that?
There aren't from what I see, but I couldn't rule out the possibility that some GMs may decide common sense would dictate the reason the rule about not being able to reload this free-hand weapon with the hand that's wielding it is there for the Gauntlet Bow specifically is to prevent people from doing some kind of dual-wielding cheese, and yes, you can't do that with a normal weapon, but using another free-hand weapon makes an interesting corner-case.

shroudb |
Gisher wrote:I don't see why you would think that using a free hand to reload a weapon on your other hand would be a problem. What rules even suggest that?There aren't from what I see, but I couldn't rule out the possibility that some GMs may decide common sense would dictate the reason the rule about not being able to reload this free-hand weapon with the hand that's wielding it is there for the Gauntlet Bow specifically is to prevent people from doing some kind of dual-wielding cheese, and yes, you can't do that with a normal weapon, but using another free-hand weapon makes an interesting corner-case.
I don't think balance has anything to do with why you can't use the same hand to reload. I'd say that the rule is probably there for physics and realism.
How would you even twist your wrist to put a bolt into a contraption that's mounted on top of said wrist.

Grankless |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Gisher wrote:I don't see why you would think that using a free hand to reload a weapon on your other hand would be a problem. What rules even suggest that?There aren't from what I see, but I couldn't rule out the possibility that some GMs may decide common sense would dictate the reason the rule about not being able to reload this free-hand weapon with the hand that's wielding it is there for the Gauntlet Bow specifically is to prevent people from doing some kind of dual-wielding cheese, and yes, you can't do that with a normal weapon, but using another free-hand weapon makes an interesting corner-case.
This hypothetical GM's "common sense" can be defeated effortlessly:
Take your right hand.
Place it on your left.
You have successfully simulated reloading a gauntlet bow when you have two of them.