Familiar


Rules Discussion


Does the tatued
"Familiar Tattoo
Item 3
Invested Magical Tattoo Transmutation
Source Secrets of Magic pg. 164 1.1
Price 60 gp
Usage tattooed on the body
This tattoo typically consists of an image of a small animal or of a familiar's name written in runes. Your familiar can meld into your familiar tattoo to be carried in your skin. The familiar must spend a single action, which has the magical, move, and transmutation traits, to meld into or exit your tattoo. It must be adjacent to you to meld into your tattoo, and it exits your tattoo in an open space adjacent to you. Any of the familiar's companion items remain on it, but it can't carry any other items with it. This tattoo is non-magical if you don't have a familiar or if your familiar doesn't remain present for the entire tattooing process. If your familiar dies, this tattoo loses its magic and becomes a mundane tattoo."

Familiar where tattoo, Cantrip connectintion, Familiar Focus, et similar, where tattoo they work, or not?


It doesn't say in the rules whether or not the Master/Familiar abilities still apply or not while the Familiar is still a tattoo. I'd err on the side of "yes, the abilities are still applicable", but I tend to be generous with my GM rulings so my players have more options available for them.


Sleeves of Storage specifically say that Master abilities don't work while your familiar is in them.

Pet Cache, Familiar Satchel, and the master ability Tattoo Transformation don't say one way or the other. But ruling that Master abilities don't work any time you try to protect your familiar doesn't make sense. It is really harsh, and there is no rules saying that you need to do that.

So for the Familiar Tatoo item, it should work the same way that the other Familiar protection items do - only doing what it actually says and not importing rules from the Sleeves of Storage for no reason.

The question I have on it is if I die and then return the next morning, does the tattoo item still not work?


My personal rule for such things is "always assume the worst case and ask the GM". If the GM agrees with the worst interpretation then no loss. If they however side with the okay or good interpretation then you get to use that stuff.

In this case the familiar abilities would shut off.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

From just the CRB, none of those options existed. I think the first one was the Advanced Player's Guide that has both Pet Cache spell and Sleeves of Storage.

So with just the Pet Cache spell, how is having Master abilities disabled even a possible ruling?

And if you also look at Sleeves of Storage it has a specific rule about disabling Master abilities if you put a familiar in there. And the item isn't intended for holding familiars in the first place. It is more of a miniature bag of holding with a slightly longer amount of time that a familiar can stay in it before suffocating.

The Sleeves of Storage are the only item that says that it turns off Master abilities. And it says so explicitly. That override coming from one item should not be considered to be precedent for a general rule.


Temperans wrote:

My personal rule for such things is "always assume the worst case and ask the GM". If the GM agrees with the worst interpretation then no loss. If they however side with the okay or good interpretation then you get to use that stuff.

In this case the familiar abilities would shut off.

I ask the GM. Rules are silecious...


Blackstorm wrote:
silecious...

What do you mean by this word? The closest word I know is siliceous and that means containing, consisting of, or resembling silica: I've noticed that silecious is occasionally used for as either an alternate spelling or a misspelling of siliceous.


Salacious?


No!

No. Absolutely not.


Eoran wrote:
Salacious?

Crawling Hand is an available familiar….

… then again, so is Talking Head.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.