Rod of Giant Summoning


Rules Questions


So I am playing a Master Summoner,
and I have a lesser Rod of Giant Summoning.

My question is, when I summon a small creature
and use the rod does the small creature go to medium size?
And medium creatures go to Large? And then Large creatures
go to giant sized?

My Gm says the creatures only go up 1 size step as I illustrated above.

I believe, as the rod states, "causing all of her summoned creatures to gain the giant simple template." -- so regardless if it's small or large, they become giant
size, and every creature regardless of the starting size it gets the giant template, and is giant sized.

OR, is it just 1 step up small to medium, medium to large, large to giant size.

If it is one step sized increase, what's the size bonus'
for creatures small to medium, medium to large, and Large to giant... what's the stat increase if they only go up 1 step?

It is not the same as enlarge.... it goes straight to mentioning the giant template.... "causing all of her summoned creatures to gain the giant simple template."

It's a rod of giant Summoning.... not a rod of enlarge Summoning...

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder RPG Bestiary pg. 294
Acquired/Inherited Template Acquired
Simple Template Yes
Usable with Summons No

Creatures with the giant template are larger and stronger than their normal-sized kin. This template cannot be applied to creatures that are Colossal.

Quick Rules: +2 to all rolls based on Str or Con, +2 hp/ HD, –1 penalty on all rolls based on Dex.

Rebuild Rules: Size increase by one category; AC increase natural armor by +3; Attacks increase dice rolled by 1 step; Ability Scores +4 size bonus to Str and Con, –2 Dex.


Kirbdog wrote:

...

I believe, as the rod states, "causing all of her summoned creatures to gain the giant simple template." -- so regardless if it's small or large, they become giant
size, and every creature regardless of the starting size it gets the giant template, and is giant sized.
...
It's a rod of giant Summoning.... not a rod of enlarge Summoning...

'giant' is not a size category. from medium it goes:

medium>large>huge>Gargantuan>colossal

no place for giant.

giant is ether a humanoid subtype like hill giant and frost giants (which this rod doesn't make them.)
or as it say in the item's info the 'giant simple template' which Taja brought in her\his post.

what the item do is grant that template to the creature you summon thus (and you should use the rebuild rules) grant it the said :
"Size increase by one category; AC increase natural armor by +3; Attacks increase dice rolled by 1 step; Ability Scores +4 size bonus to Str and Con, –2 Dex."

if you would summon a goblin dog. with this item you can summon a "giant goblin dog" which is the same as a normal goblin dog only with the adjustment that the giant template changes.

and yes. with this item one can summon a "giant Hill-Giant" if he has he ability to summon hill giants. it will come out as variant hill giant which would be somewhat larger and stronger then the average hill giant.

Dark Archive

Giant isn't a size. Huge is after large.

It gives the giant template (as stated above)

It increases the summon by 1 size category. It is "giant" compared to a regular version of the creature.


^---- I agree with the others, whatever creature you summon, you add the giant template that Taja the Barbarian linked to that summoned creature---> You would increase the size of whatever you summoned by 1 size category, increase nat armor by 3, any damage dice by 1 step, and change the ability scores as noted.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rod of Giant Summoning All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.