Swashbucker's "parry and response" question: how many "response" vs Full Round Attacks?


Rules Questions


Hello there!
I have a very specific question about parry and response against full round attacks.
Now, how many response can I make for each parry?
Can I respond to every single attack? or, since it's an immediate action, I can respond only to a single attack?

Thanks in advance!


Opportune Parry and Riposte wrote:
At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature’s result, the creature’s attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed's cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.

You only get one immediate action per round, and it takes away your swift action on the next turn. You can PARRY as many attacks as you have attacks of opportunity, but you only get ONE Riposte.


Oh, I see...thanks for the clarification!


You didn't ask this, but based on your question it might be a good idea to read this over.

Also, since we're online and anonymous, it's the proper time to tell you it's Riposte, not response.

Also Also, make sure you know that each Parry *attempt* costs you an Attack of Opportunity. So you're making only one per round without Combat Reflexes...


Negative Party Prognosis wrote:

You didn't ask this, but based on your question it might be a good idea to read this over.

Also, since we're online and anonymous, it's the proper time to tell you it's Riposte, not response.

Also Also, make sure you know that each Parry *attempt* costs you an Attack of Opportunity. So you're making only one per round without Combat Reflexes...

Not only does it cost an AOO per parry, it also costs a point of panache per parry..


TxSam88 wrote:
Negative Party Prognosis wrote:

You didn't ask this, but based on your question it might be a good idea to read this over.

Also, since we're online and anonymous, it's the proper time to tell you it's Riposte, not response.

Also Also, make sure you know that each Parry *attempt* costs you an Attack of Opportunity. So you're making only one per round without Combat Reflexes...

Not only does it cost an AOO per parry, it also costs a point of panache per parry..

Yessir, I always made sure this wasn't an issue with Extra Panache since OP&R is the core ability of the Swashbuckler, on top of all the other ways to expend Panache points... So I occasionally forget that people run into this problem


Sure, I have both extra panache and combat reflexes!
Thanks for the reminder, tho!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbucker's "parry and response" question: how many "response" vs Full Round Attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions