Sustaining multiple Hex Cantrips in a round


Rules Discussion

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Hey folks, so I stumbled into a situation with my Witch (Fervor patron) that worked at the time, but I'm curious to see how far it could go. My reading over the rules makes me think it's viable, but IMO it's freakin' crazy so I wanted to see what thoughts were here.

Specifically this was with the Hex Cantrip Stoke The Heart. Here's how it went down.

Round 1: I moved up, cast Stoke The Heart on the Fighter, then cast Shield.

Round 2: I moved again, I Sustained STH on the Fighter, and cast STH on the Magus. The GM at this point was like, "Whoa hang on a sec..." but then decided since all I had done was Sustain a Spell and Cast a Spell, it was all good.

This was where the fight ended, but it got me thinking. Could I conceivably have continued the fight as described below?

Round 3: I Sustain STH on the Fighter, Sustain STH on the Magus, and cast it on the Ranger.

Round 4: I Sustain all three castings of STH and revel in the carnage.

Round 5: I Cackle to keep the Fighter's STH up, Move, and Sustain the Magus and Ranger.

I've read through the rules for Stoke the Heart, Witch's Hex Spells, Focus Spells, and the Sustain a Spell action. I scanned other threads here on the Sustain a Spell subject and didn't see anything definitive one way or the other.

Thoughts? Is there something glaringly obvious I've missed that makes this not viable?


That's a good question. I don't think sustaining counts as casting. It should be doable that way. Otherwise it would say you can't cast or sustain more than 1 hex in a round.


The only thing I think is not viable is the number of rounds! kkkk

Usually as you commented the mostly encounters ends in 2-4 rounds. But yes the witch is a class focused in sustain spells and you can sustain any number of spells that your actions, Cackle and Effortless Concentration allows.


Project: J-ko wrote:
Is there something glaringly obvious I've missed that makes this not viable?

Nope, sustain as much as your actions allow.

Sustaining is definitely not casting.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

And on the extreme end, there is this.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
Eoran wrote:
And on the extreme end, there is this.

*stares in wonder*

...oh.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's one of the distinctions of Witch vs Bard.

Bard specifically cannot* use multiple Compositions OR sustain multiple ones. Witch can't cast multiple Hexes, but can sustain as many as she wants.

*(outside of abilities that specifically alter that like Harmonise)


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It's not crazy at all... it's something to do since you're a divine witch with no good cantrips to cast sometimes. It's not overpowered compared to something like inspire courage which contributes as much to dpr for each target and will affect all three targets for one action instead of three.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Sustaining multiple Hex Cantrips in a round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.