Recharge Innate Magic


Rules Questions


I am getting myself confused with the spell Recharge Innate Magic

Can it only be taken by Gnomes?

Or can it be taken by any class listed plus ALL Gnomes?


Minigiant wrote:

I am getting myself confused with the spell Recharge Innate Magic

Can it only be taken by Gnomes?

Or can it be taken by any class listed plus ALL Gnomes?

Adv Race Gd pg39, "Gnomes have access to the following spells." then several spells are listed along with Recharge Innate Magic.

It IS a personal spell and thus rather limited.

There's a superscript R following the spell on AoN for 'religion/race'.
from AoN notes: "R Spell requires a requisite religion or race. If religion, spellcaster must worship the listed deity to utilize the spell. If race, the spell might only target members of the listed race (the spell will say this if it does), but often are just the race's guarded secrets. Members of other races can learn to cast them with GM permission."

This means in PFS you have to be a Gnome AND it has to be on your spell list.


Azothath wrote:


This means in PFS you have to be a Gnome AND it has to be on your spell list.

Brilliant, thank you very much. And it is safe to assume that Racial Heritage Gnome allows you to get it too


I never noticed the (Gnome) tag on the spell, honestly.

Although, in my experience, allowing non-Gnomes to cast this spell has not proven unbalancing or overpowered, by any means. But I think I will restrict access to it in the future to add some mystery to Gnomish magics. Keep random things mildly intriguing, hopefully.


I used the spell a while ago on a 9-tail Kitsune oracle and it was pretty fun to be able to recharge disguise self and charm person with my oracle spells. I wouldn't say it's overpowered to allow it, the uses are pretty limited.


It's hilarious as a choice for the Major Magic Rogue Talent.


VoodistMonk wrote:
It's hilarious as a choice for the Major Magic Rogue Talent.

Would that get around the race prerequisite?


No. It's just funny to use a 1st-level spell 1/day SLA to recharge all your SLA's of 1st-level or lower... infinite SLA's... however much use you can get out of that.

Silver Crusade

VoodistMonk wrote:
No. It's just funny to use a 1st-level spell 1/day SLA to recharge all your SLA's of 1st-level or lower... infinite SLA's... however much use you can get out of that.

Picking Recharge Innate Magic via a class feature wouldn't allow that to work. You'd need all your SLAs - Recharge Innate Magic AND the others - to come from racial traits, not class features, in order to have infinite uses:

Recharge Innate Magic wrote:
You channel magic energy into your own aura, recharging your innate magic abilities. You regain one use of all 0-level and 1st-level spell-like abilities you can use as a result of a racial trait.

The only way I know to have infinite uses of racial SLAs is by going Gnome with Fey Magic (HotW), and pick Recharge Innate Magic as your 1st level Druid spell. Assuming you are in the chosen terrain, you can cast your racial Recharge Innate Magic SLA, recharging itself together with all other racial SLAs that have been already used.

In my opinion, this works well with Pyromaniac, as it would allow a reliable use of Produce Flame as a default weapon. Of course, the gimmick breaks as soon as you are not in the chosen terrain anymore, and can be easily substituted by a wand of Recharge Innate Magic past the first few levels.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Recharge Innate Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.