Casting spells and moving


Rules Questions


So are you able to cast spells, and still get a 30' movement in during your action?


As long as the spell you’re casting takes a standard action then yes.


note: if it's a touch spell you get a 'free' touch attack to use ,only in that round (on later rounds if your holding the charge you need to use your own allotted actions). the touch attack can be done after casting or even after moving.
so you can cast as standard action > move > touch attack.

also, unless your a magus with spell strike, attacking with a weapon capable to deliver the touch efect (like unarmed strike) to hit the normal ac (not touch) can't be used with said free touch attack.


Actions in Combat CRB. You can read about what you can do on your turn. Table 7-2 Actions in Combat is a great little table.

and PF Unchnd did some reshuffling, actions got types Revised Action Economy mainly in the naming in an effort to simplify things. I think it didn't really help. In retrospect it is clearly an early effort towards a PF2 action style.


Speaker for the Dead wrote:
As long as the spell you’re casting takes a standard action then yes.

Am I able to get in an attack if I don’t move the 30’ movement, staying still and attacking with a ranged weapon?


Kirbdog wrote:
Speaker for the Dead wrote:
As long as the spell you’re casting takes a standard action then yes.
Am I able to get in an attack if I don’t move the 30’ movement, staying still and attacking with a ranged weapon?

assuming a standard action spell and standard action attack,

No, because you can only take one standard action per turn. As with everything, many exceptions apply.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting spells and moving All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions