Could Prehensile Hair use a Battlepot as a weapon?


Rules Questions


So RAW says that prehensile hair "can manipulate objects (but not weapons) as dexterously as a human hand". I recently came across the battlepot, which is an item that primarily serves as an 8lb cauldron. According to its notes "when gripped by the handles, it can also be wielded as a +1 heavy mace without imposing an improvised weapon penalty."

Since the pot functions as both an object and a weapon, does this mean prehensile hair could swing the pot in battle? Does the hair just drop the pot if the wielder wants to swing it?


Rather than try to define a class of weapons that aren't really weapons, I'd read that as the prehensile hair not being very effective at wielding weapons. No, they don't autodrop weapons, but the hair doesn't have to be any more effective at damaging enemies with a weapon than it is without.


You can hold objects but not use them as weapons. So you could hold a mace. But not "wield it" for combat.

A battle pot would be the same.


Alchemist Tentacles and Vestigial Arms can.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So a male witch holding a battlepot with the prehensile hair hex turns his beard into a literal soup catcher. xD

Merry Christmas!


I'd review prehensile tail usage.

No, the hair cannot weild a weapon, even one without a non-Prof penalty. The text was quite clear. Wands though....

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Could Prehensile Hair use a Battlepot as a weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.