Drawing and Stowing Multiple Wands


Rules Questions


Okay, so as a Sorcerer, can I cast with a wand on turn one, and then cast with a free hand turn two? Then, if I understand correctly, you can do an attack and a move in one turn, so could Turn Two mentioned above include the free-hand spell cast as the attack and stowing the wand from Turn One? Would this then free up the action on Turn Three to draw a new wand?

So essentially, could the sequence be Wand Spell, Free Hand Spell, Wand Spell....all in succession without delay or penalty? This does not imply any feats involved, just standard moves/actions rules.


If I understand you correctly your plan is

Round 1: move action draw wand 1, standard action use wand 1
Round 2: move action stow wand 1, standard action cast spell
Round 3: move action draw wand 2, standard action use wand 2

This works fine so long as the wands are stored somewhere that you can access as a move action, which shouldn't be a problem if you set it up right (i.e. don't keep your wands in a mundane backpack).


But if I wanted to go back and forth from wand to wand to wand, the same rule would apply as melee fighters. One cannot stow, draw, and cast in the same turn. The only way around that is to drop Wand #1 and then draw #2 and cast, correct?


LavaRox wrote:
But if I wanted to go back and forth from wand to wand to wand, the same rule would apply as melee fighters. One cannot stow, draw, and cast in the same turn. The only way around that is to drop Wand #1 and then draw #2 and cast, correct?

Buy a Bandolier and affix your commonly-used wands to it so they're readily available.


Generally correct but there are a few ways around that. First and simplest if you have both hands free you can hold two wands at once. You'd need to drop or stow one to cast a non-wand spell with somatic (S) components.

A familiar or similar might pick up/catch items you drop. You might be OK with a monkey climbing over you to put wands back in whatever item stores them.

A spring loaded wrist sheath (but not a bandolier) allows you to draw a wand from it as a swift action. You wouldn't be able to put it back in the wrist sheath as a move action, but you could put it in a bandolier with that action.

There are a couple of race options which give you a prehensile tail which you can transfer items to/from as a swift action. You can't cast with a wand held in your tail, but you could transfer a wand from your tail to your hand or vice versa as a swift.

A glove of storing is a pricy magic item which allows you to transfer an item from it to your hand or vice versa as a free action. Just one item, you can't store a bunch of wands in it.

The weaponwand spell lets you store a wand inside a weapon temporarily. With the quick draw and maybe quick stow feats, or a couple of other tricks you can draw/stow a weapon as a swift action.

There's other solutions which are specific to some class.


Eberron has a wand bracelet that I think might be what your looking for.


The spell Retrieve Item lets you call any small item like a wand into your hand with the snap of your finger (like the aforementioned Glove of Storing). It's a 2nd-level sorcerer spell with a permanent duration, so you only need to cast this spell once for every wand you have.

The spell doesn't specify what kind of action it requires to call such an item, but since it works the same way as a Glove of Storing, I'd say it's a free action too. However, it only calls such an item, but doesn't help storing it; you can still just drop the wand after using it, if you're not afraid of losing it somehow: as long as the item isn't in someone else's possession, you can always recall it Thanos-style even from the ground.


retrieve item wrote:
permanent until discharged

If you retrieve a wand, use it then drop it you can't call it back until you cast this spell again. Also command words are a standard action to use. Apport object only lasts an hour/level but you can call an item as a swift action.


avr wrote:
retrieve item wrote:
permanent until discharged
If you retrieve a wand, use it then drop it you can't call it back until you cast this spell again. Also command words are a standard action to use. Apport object only lasts an hour/level but you can call an item as a swift action.

It doesn't say anywhere that this is a Command Word activation or that it requires such an action. The Command Word activation rule is limited to magic items, but this is a spell.

The spell never specifies an ending except the "discharged", which can mean a whole lot of things. I interpret "discharged" as "sent back", since spells of the Calling subschool have a send back action built into them.


Take a glove and fashion a rotateable vollar to the wrist. Attach a bandolier to the collar. Selecting a wand becomes a simple matter of rotating the collar until the appropriate wand can be grasped. Should be a free action or a swift at most to select a wand and a move action to don and remove the glove.

I would be very dubious about allowing such an item, but you can always try.


4 levels of Counterfeit Mage Rogue allows you to choose a "signature wand" each day that can be drawn as a free action and activated without a UMD check...


Don't forget that you can draw or stow a wand as a free action as part of movement. See the Draw or Sheathe a Weapon section on page 186-7 of the CRB and the relevant FAQ


Theaitetos wrote:

It doesn't say anywhere that this is a Command Word activation or that it requires such an action. The Command Word activation rule is limited to magic items, but this is a spell.

The spell never specifies an ending except the "discharged", which can mean a whole lot of things. I interpret "discharged" as "sent back", since spells of the Calling subschool have a send back action built into them.

text of retrieve item spell wrote:
You call a specific nonliving item directly to your hand from a nearby location. First, you must cast the spell on the item while holding it. Thereafter, you can summon the item by speaking a special word (set by you when the spell is cast) and snapping your fingers. The item appears instantly in your hand.

There's nothing there about sending the item back, and the calling subschool gives a creature the ability to return to their plane of origin - not an item the ability to go to some place of your choice. Your interpretation there is missing everything required for it to work.

Speaking a special word for a magical effect is a command word. This was put in place to cut back on a bunch of magical effects which you could do without meaningful actions in older editions.

Liberty's Edge

avr wrote:
Theaitetos wrote:

It doesn't say anywhere that this is a Command Word activation or that it requires such an action. The Command Word activation rule is limited to magic items, but this is a spell.

The spell never specifies an ending except the "discharged", which can mean a whole lot of things. I interpret "discharged" as "sent back", since spells of the Calling subschool have a send back action built into them.

text of retrieve item spell wrote:
You call a specific nonliving item directly to your hand from a nearby location. First, you must cast the spell on the item while holding it. Thereafter, you can summon the item by speaking a special word (set by you when the spell is cast) and snapping your fingers. The item appears instantly in your hand.

There's nothing there about sending the item back, and the calling subschool gives a creature the ability to return to their plane of origin - not an item the ability to go to some place of your choice. Your interpretation there is missing everything required for it to work.

Speaking a special word for a magical effect is a command word. This was put in place to cut back on a bunch of magical effects which you could do without meaningful actions in older editions.

Considering the spell level and effect, I think it should be a free action to call the object, but it clearly ends when the object is called.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Drawing and Stowing Multiple Wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions