
![]() |
Let me preface this by saying, I'm pretty sure that RAW since it's not stated you CAN that you can't do what I'm about to ask, but it's an odd case.
Spell, Threefold Face (PPC Legacy of the First World)
arcanist 3, medium 3, sorcerer/wizard 3, witch 3
You grow two extra faces around your head.
This grants you All Around Vision.
Spells and effects that do things like affect your vision, BLOCK YOUR MOUTH, Deafen you, etc., only affect one face, so to fully blind you it would take 3 castings of Blindness for example.
So what if I have a Bite Attack?
Say I'm an Orc with Toothy so I have a bite attack.
If someone casts Lipstitch on me (Magically sews the mouth shut, normally preventing speech and bite attacks among other things), it wouldn't stop me talking or biting unless they cast it 3 times.
By logical extension, does this mean that, unfettered, while under Threefold Face I would have 3 bite attacks?
Would you accept that ARGUMENT that it SHOULD give me three bite attacks and allow that if you were DM?

Claxon |

Does that mean you can't do both a Gore and a Bite?
I think so, but I'd have to go find the relevant FAQ on this topic about natural attacks on a per limb basis.
There is a slight chance that horns/gore attacks might have been considered separate limb from head, though I'm doubtful.
But it's definitely established for instance multiple instances of receiving claw attacks doesn't do you any good, and specifically you can't even put them on your feet (they made an FAQ to say claws go on hands only and talons go on feet) to prevent people from getting 4 claw attacks.

Scott Wilhelm |
You can only make one natural attack per limb, three fold face specifically says it does not give you extra heads, so only one bite attack.
I'd base the objection differently. The spell doesn't say it grants you extra Bite Attacks, so it doesn't. I'd agree that casting Lipstitch only once would let you use your other Mouths for your Bite Attack. There is a difference between a Natural Weapon and an Natural Attack. A Natural Attack is an extra action you can take with your Mouth as part of a Full Attack. A Natural Weapon is that toothy maw you would make that Attack with.
In general, specific trumps general. If you get an ability that specifically says you get an extra natural attack, then you get an extra natural attack. That's the way I see it, anyway.

LordKailas |

To start with, from the spell description we can see that this spell allows the recipient to have multiple bite attacks.
we are told that effects that modify your face in some way only affect one face and that it takes multiple castings to affect multiple faces. So, you could benefit from multiple castings of a spell like Savage Maw
Since the spell copies the original creature's face it follows that those copies would also possess all the abilities held by the original face. So, if you have dark vision, your additional faces would also have darkvision.
So, the only question left is. If you have multiple bite attacks on a single head, can you employ all of them or does using 1 preclude the use of the other two?
I found two examples of monsters that
*Do not have an amorphous body
*explicitly have 1 head
*explicitly have multiple mouths on said head
*get a bite attack of some sort
The Anisydaemon (Daemon) and the Kimenhul (Sahkil). In both cases the creature gets 1 bite attack per mouth (2 and 3 respectively).
The only creature I could find that copies the spell aesthetically was the Upasunda (Asura) unfortunately, despite each face having a "fanged mouth" it doesn't actually get a bite attack of any sort. So it wasn't helpful in determining the answer to the question.

Derklord |

On the main topic: The existence of a body part potentially able to make an unarmed strike is not enough for a natural weapon. A natural wepaon requires understanding of how to use the respective body part. And that is not something granted by the spell - all three mouths would have fangs, and any given Lipstitch would still leave you with two mouths to bite with, but the understanding of how to make multiple bites is not within you.
So no, I don't think you'd get multiple bite attacks, and wouldn't allow it as a GM.
You can only make one natural attack per limb
Quote a rule that says so.
The rule you're thinking about is only about "natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee weapon [or] unarmed strikes".
But it's definitely established for instance multiple instances of receiving claw attacks doesn't do you any good
Actually, no, that's not established. The FAQ in question only says "your claws must go on your hands", not that each hand can only have one set of claws. I do indeed think the FAQ was (mainly) targeted at combining weapon attacks with claws-on-feet.
Of course, that's a purely academical issue as no GM on the planet will allow multiple claws on the same hand. It's one of these "common sense" things that the CRB is full of because somewhy someone at Paizo thought that a rule book should contain guidelines rather than actual rules. Just like Ooze Form, Undead Anatomy, and Form of the Dragon grant both the listed and the target form's natural weapons RAW.

VoodistMonk |

Every natural attack build I have seen has a bite and a gore attack coming from the same source (your head)... so either EVERYONE is wrong, or you aren't restricted to one attack per limb.
But what about "hands' worth of effort"? Lol. Isn't that a thing that people keep bringing up? Or does that only apply to people who want to TWF with a Greatsword/Armor Spikes? And "hands' worth of effort" always comes up when talking about the Kasatha.
But natural attacks, screw it, make a gore and bite with the same limb, you're not overdoing your "hands' worth of effort" at all.
Next time someone brings up "hands' worth of effort" in an argument against martials having nice things, I hope their freaking shoes catch fire. Such outright inconsistencies make no sense.

Java Man |

As far as bite + gore, several monsters get both, so that seems legit. The actual wording of the "one per limb" idea is ". You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks)." (CRB combat chapter under natural attacks)
And that is vague enough to not settle anything, is it one per head, one per mouth, one per entry for 'bite' on the stat block?