| Naglfarthedwarf |
I can't find an answer to this.
Example: If I am a sorcerer with CHA 18 and I cast Eagle's Splendor then cast Disguise Self the DC would be 17 to disbelieve (if interacted with).
But if Eagle's Splendor then runs out, but the same Disguise Self is still ongoing, does the DC drop to 15 or stay at 17 until the end of that casting of the spell? Is there a rule for this somewhere that I can't find?
| VoodistMonk |
I've hunted in vain for a rule on this as well. Looking at the martial version of the question, when the fighter's bull strength runs out the roll to break out of the grapple he started while still under the effect of the spell would be adjusted, no? Should spell DCs be different?
I would run it this way, as well.
If the buff runs out, the DC changes to match.
| Zepheri |
Yeap it reduce if yo use bull are your attack and dmg whit melee increase but when it's run out this effect reduce to it's normal. But for magic in my opinion it's don't reduce because the spell was cast whit the increase bonus before this bonus Finnish.
Example if you put a pot of water in a stove and you turn on the fire so that the water go to 100°c an then turn of the flame, the water will still be at 100°c
Diego Rossi
|
Yeap it reduce if yo use bull are your attack and dmg whit melee increase but when it's run out this effect reduce to it's normal. But for magic in my opinion it's don't reduce because the spell was cast whit the increase bonus before this bonus Finnish.
Example if you put a pot of water in a stove and you turn on the fire so that the water go to 100°c an then turn of the flame, the water will still be at 100°c
Finish, not Finnish. Do you do that on purpose?
Let's consider the question from the opposite direction. If someone cast a spell that requires a Will save on my character and has an ongoing effect, he fails by 1 point and after the effect is resolved someone cast on me Owl Wisdom, I save the spell retroactively?
No.
The DC is determined when the spell is cast, the ongoing effect then is ongoing, it isn't modified by the caster moving, increasing/decreasing his stats, polymorphing, him being alive or dead, sane, insane, level drained, stunned etc. (unless the effect or spell specifically says something different).
| Naglfarthedwarf |
Thanks for the info guys/girls. Seems like the consensus is clear even if it isn't directly addressed in the rules.
It's actually something I'd never considered for spells with a long duration. Suddenly spells like Eagle's Splendor become really useful and make spells like Charm Monster or Command Undead significantly more powerful.
| LordKailas |
I distinctly recall reading somewhere that all spell variables are set at the time of the casting...something to do with full round casting or some such so that everything was not dictated at the time casting started, but rather when casting completed. Possibly in one of the FAQs?
you're probably thinking of the following
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.
This typically gets brought up when discussing summoning spells which take a full round to cast. Since the situation may have changed and a different summon than the one you were going to choose would be more helpful. That being said it isn't exclusive to summoning spells or even full round action spells, all spells have you make all the pertinent decisions once the spell comes into effect.
IMO this indicates that spell DC is determined (along with everything else) when the spell is cast and that these things do not change unless specified by the spell. The spell effect doesn't retroactively change just because the caster got nerfed or buffed after the spell was cast. If a wall of fire doesn't shrink or increase in size as a result of the caster's level increasing or decreasing then why would the DC to save against said wall change as a result of the caster's stats increasing or decreasing?
| Azothath |
I'd agree that all spell variables (including DC) are set upon casting. The caster losing the 'buff' after the casting is sad but will not affect the DC of the active & ongoing spell (usually, there's probably an exception somewhere). Same as having the buff up and setting a trap, the DC remains until triggered even if the buff when the trap was set has worn off.
A good example is casting in order; (A)False Life, wait a bit (less than half (A) duration), (B)Bear's Endurance, (C)Cat's Grace, then (D)Skinsend.
Clearly (A) & (D) will be ongoing after (B) & (C) end.
Reflex check bonuses made under (D) will lower when (C) ends and the bonus is lost {assuming the effect of (C) transfers to the skin}. This shows that an effect can wear off.
Even when (A) & (B) run out, (D) will have started with half of the bonus from (A) & (B) to hit points. This shows how an effect at initial calculation can extend for the latter spell's duration.
This spell chain doesn't illustrate a DC effect as dispelling is caster level vs caster level but it does illustrate other ongoing effects set at the casting.