Specialist Wizard and Wands


Rules Questions


Hi,

Would a specialist wizard have to use the "Use Magic Item" skill to use a wand
that contains a spell from a banned school or is it not an issue?

Thanks

Liberty's Edge

Not an issue.

CRBA wrote:

wizard that chooses to specialize in one school of magic must select two other schools as his opposition schools, representing knowledge sacrificed in one area of arcane lore to gain mastery in another. A wizard who prepares spells from his opposition schools must use two spell slots of that level to prepare the spell.

...
In addition, a specialist takes a –4 penalty on any skill checks made when crafting a magic item that has a spell from one of his opposition schools as a prerequisite. A universalist wizard can prepare spells from any school without restriction.

No further limitations.


At worst, you'd have to use 2 charges of the wand per use, but I'm sure that the intent is for it to work as normal.


Yeah, the spell is still on your spell list. It would be different if it actually removed the spells all together from your spell lists. After all, it doesn't even have to be a spell your character actually knows.

By the RAW you don't suffer any sort of penalty for using a wand of a spell from your opposition school. The DM might impose some sort of penalty but it would be purely a houserule.


I wonder if KenkuKen is talking about a Thassilonian specialist? In that case;

Thassilonian specialist wrote:
Restrictions: A Thassilonian specialist does not get to customize his choice for opposition schools—that choice is selected for him when he chooses his specialization. These restrictions are more significant than those most wizards follow, and are known as prohibited schools. A Thassilonian wizard can never prepare a spell that is in one of his prohibited schools—he treats these spells as if they were not on the wizard spell list. If using a spell trigger or spell completion item to cast a spell from one of his prohibited schools, he must use the Use Magic Device skill to do so.


Possibly the Thassilonian specialist, but more likely the D&D 3.x specialist wizard that the archetype imitates. They worked that way; PF changed it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Specialist Wizard and Wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.