Metamagic cast times - Multiple GM's have done it differently?


Rules Questions


Hey all,

I know this question has been asked many times...but it seems many GM's have thier own ruling on this.

My Fire Oracle took the metamagic feat to change my fire to Ice spells.
When I attempted this recently in game, the GM said that the standard action would now be a 1 round action. Meaning it would be cast on my next turn.

I alwasys though it would just take my standard / move action and be cast on my turn. I've been playing this way for a while now.

I've just played with another player who had a life oracle who had the meta magic rod of reach so they could cast Breath of Life on the same turn as a full round action.

Any insight would be great as I just need to know if a standard action spell becomes a full round action or 1 round action when using metamagic.

Cheers

Silver Crusade

He has gotten a full round casting time mixed up with one round casting time. They seem like they are the same, but they aren't.


Val'bryn2 wrote:
He has gotten a full round casting time mixed up with one round casting time. They seem like they are the same, but they aren't.

So the DM or the player has got it wrong? :)

Silver Crusade

A spontaneous caster with a metamagic spell does it as a full round action, it takes effect in the same round it is cast in, the player was right.

The Exchange

Core Rulebook page 113

Quote:
Casting a standard action metamagic spell spontaneously is a full-round action, and a spell with a longer casting time takes an extra full-round action to cast. The only exception is for spells modified by the Quicken Spell feat, which can be cast as a swift action.

The Exchange

Your GM is probably being tripped up by the language on page 213 concerning spells that DO have a 1-round casting time.

Quote:
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.

So a spell that has a 1-round cast time takes a full-round action from you. So does a spell that has a full-round cast. The difference is that the spell with a 1-round cast doesn't come into effect until just before your next turn, while the full-round cast comes into effect as soon as you spend the full-round action.

-OR-

All 1-round casts are a full-round action. But not all full-round action casts are 1-round casts.

Grand Lodge

This is a pretty common source of confusion. Point the GM in the direction of Core Rulebook pg. 187 Casting a Meta-magic spell:

"...If a spell's normal casting time is 1 standard action, casting the meta-magic version is a full-round action for a sorcerer or bard..... Note that this isn't the same as a spell with a 1-round casting time. Spells that take a full-round action to cast spells take effect in the same round that you begin to casting..."

Really all it means is that you cannot move and cast a metamagic spell in the same round (except the 5ft step).


Thank you everyone.

This has cleared it up for me now. :)


You learn something new every day - I was about to say that metamagic rods did not increase the vasting time, but fortunately I checked first, and they totally do!

_
glass.


glass wrote:

You learn something new every day - I was about to say that metamagic rods did not increase the vasting time, but fortunately I checked first, and they totally do!

_
glass.

To be clear:

For spontaneous casters such as Bards or Sorcerers it alters both casting time and slot level used. A Wizard or other prepared caster using a Rod or memorizing a spell with metamagic does not alter the casting time instead only the slot the spell uses is modified.

The Exchange

Kayerloth wrote:
glass wrote:

You learn something new every day - I was about to say that metamagic rods did not increase the vasting time, but fortunately I checked first, and they totally do!

_
glass.

To be clear:

For spontaneous casters such as Bards or Sorcerers it alters both casting time and slot level used. A Wizard or other prepared caster using a Rod or memorizing a spell with metamagic does not alter the casting time instead only the slot the spell uses is modified.

Time out!

Using a metamagic rod does not alter the slot used. It does alter the casting time for spontaneous casters but in no case does it alter the slot used.

Grand Lodge

I think they were just talking metamagic in general but yes, if it’s from a rod it does not use up a higher level spell slot.

Bonus points: be an arcanist and prepare spells with metamagic, then spontaneously add even more metamagics to them!

Liberty's Edge

Jared Walter 356 wrote:

This is a pretty common source of confusion. Point the GM in the direction of Core Rulebook pg. 187 Casting a Meta-magic spell:

"...If a spell's normal casting time is 1 standard action, casting the meta-magic version is a full-round action for a sorcerer or bard..... Note that this isn't the same as a spell with a 1-round casting time. Spells that take a full-round action to cast spells take effect in the same round that you begin to casting..."

Really all it means is that you cannot move and cast a metamagic spell in the same round (except the 5ft step).

A spell with a 1-round casting time takes 1 round to cast, so it can be disrupted for the full round, until the begin of the caster next round.

A metamagiched (by a spontaneous caster) spell with a 1-round casting time will require 1 round plus 1 full round, so it will be cast at the end of the next turn of the caster and can be disrupted for the entire period.


Syries wrote:

I think they were just talking metamagic in general but yes, if it’s from a rod it does not use up a higher level spell slot.

Bonus points: be an arcanist and prepare spells with metamagic, then spontaneously add even more metamagics to them!

Yes that what I meant.

I absolutely love it when my post potentially adds to the confusion, *sigh*


Diego Rossi wrote:
Jared Walter 356 wrote:

This is a pretty common source of confusion. Point the GM in the direction of Core Rulebook pg. 187 Casting a Meta-magic spell:

"...If a spell's normal casting time is 1 standard action, casting the meta-magic version is a full-round action for a sorcerer or bard..... Note that this isn't the same as a spell with a 1-round casting time. Spells that take a full-round action to cast spells take effect in the same round that you begin to casting..."

Really all it means is that you cannot move and cast a metamagic spell in the same round (except the 5ft step).

A spell with a 1-round casting time takes 1 round to cast, so it can be disrupted for the full round, until the begin of the caster next round.

A metamagiched (by a spontaneous caster) spell with a 1-round casting time will require 1 round plus 1 full round, so it will be cast at the end of the next turn of the caster and can be disrupted for the entire period.

And this is where the confusion comes in. Spells with a 1 round casting time start on your turn and take effect when your next turn comes around.

Spontaneous Casters that metamagic a spell with a casting time of standard or faster take a full round action to cast their spell. That is not the same as having a 1 round casting time. A 1 round casting time is longer than a full round action. So a spontaneous caster that metamagics a standard action spell gets to make a 5' step and can still take a swift action. Also their spell goes off on their turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic cast times - Multiple GM's have done it differently? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions