Teleport another creature from distance


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Hello folks

Is there any artifact or spell that allows one to teleport another creature to a set destination from a distance of many miles, without touching or even seeing them?

I did some research but could not find anything.

Thanks!

Silver Crusade

Wish, maybe.


On demand? Wish. If you have time to set it up in advance? Teleportation Circle.


Both Refuge and Signifier's Rally will teleport a willing creature to you if set up beforehand. Refuge can be used to send you to within 10' of them also.

Grand Lodge

I should've mentioned it's not directed towards a willing creature. We're talking long-distance kidnapping, basically.

I see Wish is indeed capable of doing that but the victim gets a Will save.

However it's level 9 spell and the NPC doing the kidnapping isn't close to be able to cast it. I guess I can "cheat" with a scroll?

Or are there any other options?


If kidnapping is what you want, why not go with charm or dominate? Let them “willingly” come with you.


Make them do the work to come to you

Vision of lamashtu + geas


Scrying + Limited Wish (-7 next save) + Wish (kidnap)

If the kidnapping is done for plot reasons then 'anything' that goes along is just fine, as long as it doesn't screw with the party.

"A dark book that contains a forbidden ritual that involves doing damnable stuff and it's too dangerous to let it exists blah blah blah, even keeping it turns you into an evil guy etc etc etc..."


If you have a familiar, you could use the duplicate familiar spell to have them safely deliver the teleport.


Demand.

It won't Teleport them but it is a Sending spell with a built in Suggestion. On a failed save they'd see to getting there themselves which, if they are capable, might include Teleportation. Even a well worded Sending (without the compulsion) might get them to voluntarily travel. Not too disimilar to Corey's idea above.

A Wish would work. The catch is whether or not the DM considers it on par with the power of one of the bullet points or not.


Kayerloth wrote:
A Wish would work. The catch is whether or not the DM considers it on par with the power of one of the bullet points or not.

It is a bullet point

Quote:
Transport travelers. A wish can lift one creature per caster level from anywhere on any plane and place those creatures anywhere else on any plane regardless of local conditions. An unwilling target gets a Will save to negate the effect, and spell resistance (if any) applies.


willuwontu wrote:
Kayerloth wrote:
A Wish would work. The catch is whether or not the DM considers it on par with the power of one of the bullet points or not.

It is a bullet point

Quote:
Transport travelers. A wish can lift one creature per caster level from anywhere on any plane and place those creatures anywhere else on any plane regardless of local conditions. An unwilling target gets a Will save to negate the effect, and spell resistance (if any) applies.

Yes, but I guess I was considering only creatures one could touch like with Teleport or Plane Shift. But it doesn't quite say that ... so yes it might work. Bottom line ask the DM or if you are the DM then ...

PS: And carefully consider it as it sets a precedent and could lead to some serious shenanigans or the PC's doing the same down the road.

Grand Lodge

I am the DM.

Thanks for all the suggestions!

I'll clarify: in the last session I needed a cliffhanger to finish things off. Long story short, the PC's return to camp only to find their friend has disappeared during the night. I then told that player that "he finds himself in a stuffy room".

I have an idea why he's there and who kidnapped him, but after the session I went to see how I can make it work in game mechanics and could not find anything. It was a complete improvisation that came to me at the moment.

As you can see, the Will save won't not help here because I already told the PC he was taken.

Have I painted myself into a corner or is there a way to justify it mechanically? MY BBEG is powerful but not that powerful, and I worry that I opened a can of worms with regard to his capabilities.

The BBEG is at least a few kilometers away from the PC's camp, and the camp itself is well guarded. The PC was simply whisked away during the night.


You can have a no-traces kidnapping (or even leave traces, if you'd rather) without teleporting at all. The PC was probably asleep when he was taken if it was the middle of the night. A BBEG or minion thereof could theoretically have come in ethereally, materialized next to him, applied chloroform sleep or equivalent, then carried him ethereally to the base/prison.

Unless the camp guards can see ethereal creatures, of course. What level of PCs/NPCs are we looking at?


This is a much easier scenario.

A witch with a quickened ill omen and flesh to stone spells in combination with sleep and evil eye hexes can pull it off.

Any caster enchantment focused with Aura of the Unremarkable can do this easily.

A BBEG with pet phase spiders also springs to mind.


If he was sleeping, he'd be considered willing fot teleport purposes. So you can assume the BBEG teleported in and teleported the target out. Possibly with a metamagic rod (silent) if you want to say he came in under silence.

Grand Lodge

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Unless the camp guards can see ethereal creatures, of course. What level of PCs/NPCs are we looking at?

The PC's are level 9 but they are not in the camp when this happens. It's a dwarven army of mostly regular soldiers, so no high level spellcasters of any kind.

If so, does this work? For example with Ethereal Jaunt?

Grailknight wrote:
A BBEG with pet phase spiders also springs to mind.

Did you mean Phase Spiders?

Pizza Lord wrote:
If he was sleeping, he'd be considered willing for teleport purposes.

For real? That could solve the problem.

BTW, The BBEG is level 12 (Wizard 4, Cleric 3 and Mystic Theurge 5)


Ice Crystal Teleport this spell dose exactly what you are looking for; teleports a target at up to long range. will negates, but you can GM fiat the failed save. its 6th level, so its a bit high for him, but much more believable than Wish.


Pizza Lord wrote:
If he was sleeping, he'd be considered willing fot teleport purposes.

I don't believe this is true. There is nothing in the rules that says an unconscious character loses or fails their Will saves in general.

For spells where the saving throw is tagged with "harmless" it would be safe to make the assumption that an unconscious character forgoes saves (otherwise, cure spells wouldn't work reliably on creatures who are unconscious and/or below 0 hp which is probably not the intent), but by RAW consciousness has no bearing on willingness.


John Mechalas wrote:

I don't believe this is true. There is nothing in the rules that says an unconscious character loses or fails their Will saves in general.

For spells where the saving throw is tagged with "harmless" it would be safe to make the assumption that an unconscious character forgoes saves (otherwise, cure spells wouldn't work reliably on creatures who are unconscious and/or below 0 hp which is probably not the intent), but by RAW consciousness has no bearing on willingness.

This is actually correct.

Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you’re flat-footed or it isn’t your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.
Teleport wrote:
Target: you and touched objects or other touched willing creatures
Wish wrote:
Transport travelers. A wish can lift one creature per caster level from anywhere on any plane and place those creatures anywhere else on any plane regardless of local conditions. An unwilling target gets a Will save to negate the effect, and spell resistance (if any) applies.

Being asleep, you would be considered willing for the purposes of teleport or wish, and thus could be wisked away.

Grand Lodge

Thanks everyone! So many ideas! I feel silly and lazy saying I looked and couldn't find...


willuwontu wrote:
Being asleep, you would be considered willing for the purposes of teleport or wish, and thus could be wisked away.

Thank you, willuwontu!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Teleport another creature from distance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions