Do Universalist Wizards get a class feat at 1rst level?


General Discussion


The wording is not very clear on Wizard class feats. The one heading says starting at 2nd lvl Wizards get a class feat. Then the first sentence of the feats for Wizards state that 'every level' you get one.

Then under Universalist it says Universalist also get an extra wizard feat.

Do Universalist Wizards get an extra feat and when?

Do any 1rst lvl wizards get a new feat at all?

Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

My read is that Universalists get a Wizard class feat at 1st level

Scarab Sages

Wizards do not get a class feat at 1st level. They get their first class feat at 2nd level, with the exception of Universalist wizards, who get a bonus class feat at 1st level, after which they gain feats at the normal rate (2, 4, etc.).


Thank you. That clarifies this a bit.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
larsenex wrote:
The wording is not very clear on Wizard class feats. The one heading says starting at 2nd lvl Wizards get a class feat. Then the first sentence of the feats for Wizards state that 'every level' you get one.

The wording could be a bit clearer.

Playtest Rulebook, page 139 wrote:
At every level you gain a wizard feat, you can select....

Means that at every level where the Wizard Advancement table (rable 3-21, page 136) indicates that you get a wizard feat, you can select on from the wizard feats listed on page 139 to 141.

It should not be interpreted to mean that a wizard gets a wizard feat every level.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

But the last sentence under "Universalist Wizards" on page 138 says:

"You also gain an extra wizard class feat."

If you don't gain that feat at 1st level, when do you gain it?

As best I can tell, that extra class feat is part of the "Arcane School" class feature gained at 1st level.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

As Davor mentioned above:

Wizards get a wizard class feat at 2nd, and 2 levels there after.
The only exception to this is the Universalist, who gains a bonus wizard class feat at 1st level.

My comment in the post above yours David, is about the confusion that Larsenex had over the wording at the start of the wizard class feat section of the rulebook.

Paizo Employee Developer

A human wizard could also theoretically pick up a wizard class feat at 1st level if she takes the Natural Ambition feat.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

So a human universalist wizard could start off with 2 wizard class feats at first level.

Interesting

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / Do Universalist Wizards get a class feat at 1rst level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion