Amulet of Hidden Strength and Vital Strike


Rules Questions


Can I make a standard action single attack using power attack vital strike and then use the amulet to make a swift action attack also using vital strike?

The amulet says this

This glass teardrop hangs on a platinum chain and can be used once per day to grant a surge of power. This surge can be used in one of two ways. As a swift action, the wearer of the amulet can make one melee or ranged attack at his highest attack bonus.

I imagine furious focus wouldn't apply to the swift action after having used power attack in the standard action, but can I vital strike again?


Sadly, no. Not because you can't VS twice in one round (you could if you somehow had two standard actions) but because VS requires you to be taking the attack action, whereas the amulet is using a swift action (therefore not the attack action) to get you an attack.

That was probably unclear. Another case of "attack =/= attack action" is attacks of opportunity. AoOs are not actions (or you couldn't take them off your turn), so you can't VS with them, even though they are attacks.

Does that make sense?


I would say no - the condition for using Vital Strike is that you take only one attack on your turn. A generous GM might allows one Vital Strike and one standard strike, but I would not.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Sadly, no. Not because you can't VS twice in one round (you could if you somehow had two standard actions) but because VS requires you to be taking the attack action, whereas the amulet is using a swift action (therefore not the attack action) to get you an attack.

That was probably unclear. Another case of "attack =/= attack action" is attacks of opportunity. AoOs are not actions (or you couldn't take them off your turn), so you can't VS with them, even though they are attacks.

Does that make sense?

There's a monk archetype that can get 3 standard actions a round. They could vital strike all three times. Since each one could do their own attack action standard action.


2bz2p wrote:
I would say no - the condition for using Vital Strike is that you take only one attack on your turn.

No, he can use his standard for a Vital Strike attack and still get a regular attack on a swift from the amulet. There isn't a requirement that VS be your one and only attack, it just generally works out that way.


It is one of the few Feats that DOES say "When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage". One attack. Even the subscript says: "You make a single attack that deals significantly more damage than normal".

Pretty clear in the specifics, you can vital strike when you opt to forgo anything but a "single attack". No exceptions noted.


It's a single attack with your attack action. Not with your whole turn.


2bz2p wrote:
I would say no - the condition for using Vital Strike is that you take only one attack on your turn. A generous GM might allows one Vital Strike and one standard strike, but I would not.

general consensus is that vital strike can't be used with the swift action but "A generous GM might allows one Vital Strike and one standard strike, but I would not." except the item literally still says an attack at highest attack bonus so i can still make a standard regular attack without vital strike.

as someone else pointed out vital strike is with the attack action not a full round action. I am not limited to one attack full stop with it


Fuzzy-Wuzzy has the right of it.

If the item or ability allows you to take an additional attack = no vital strike.

If it lets you take an additional standard action or attack action = yes to vital strike.


No, it would not work. Attack action is not the same thing as an attack.


Chess Pwn wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Sadly, no. Not because you can't VS twice in one round (you could if you somehow had two standard actions) but because VS requires you to be taking the attack action, whereas the amulet is using a swift action (therefore not the attack action) to get you an attack.

That was probably unclear. Another case of "attack =/= attack action" is attacks of opportunity. AoOs are not actions (or you couldn't take them off your turn), so you can't VS with them, even though they are attacks.

Does that make sense?

There's a monk archetype that can get 3 standard actions a round. They could vital strike all three times. Since each one could do their own attack action standard action.

What archetype is this? Because Two Handed Fighter (3) would give you double str damage. Add vital strike and you could have a really powerful beatstick.


Slow Time (Su): At 12th level, a monk of the four winds can use his ki to slow time or quicken his movements, depending on the observer. As a swift action, the monk can expend 6 ki points to gain three standard actions during his turn instead of just one. The monk can use these actions to do the following: take a melee attack action, use a skill, use an extraordinary ability, or take a move action. The monk cannot use these actions to cast spells or use spell-like abilities, and cannot combine them to take full-attack actions. Any move actions the monk makes this turn do not provoke attacks of opportunity. This ability replaces abundant step.

Dark Archive

Vital strike is only good if you can deal 6d6 before using it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Ok. So...if you can get into a gestalt game.

Duergar Titan Mauler Barbarian / Monk of the 4 winds (12) Oracle lame curse (1)

At lvl12....with a -2 Hit penalty.

Large Greatsword (3d6)
SLA enlarge person (4d6)
Furious Finish (max vital strike damage, rage ends, fatigued....but lame curse makes you immune to fatigue)
Improved Vital Strike (3x Weapon Damage)

Use 6 ki points for 3 vital strikes. Each one does 72 damage from Weapon alone, not counting modifiers like strength and power attack.

Once per day trick. But there we go. :)


Grumbaki wrote:

Ok. So...if you can get into a gestalt game.

Duergar Titan Mauler Barbarian / Monk of the 4 winds (12) Oracle lame curse (1)

At lvl12....with a -2 Hit penalty.

Large Greatsword (3d6)
SLA enlarge person (4d6)
Furious Finish (max vital strike damage, rage ends, fatigued....but lame curse makes you immune to fatigue)
Improved Vital Strike (3x Weapon Damage)

Use 6 ki points for 3 vital strikes. Each one does 72 damage from Weapon alone, not counting modifiers like strength and power attack.

Once per day trick. But there we go. :)

nah man, have the oracle be the life oracle and then turn your channels into extra ki. Also with stuff like drunken ki and reducing ki costs you can get it to a pretty usable ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Amulet of Hidden Strength and Vital Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions