|
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
The Ebony Bolero, from Agents of Evil, is a rather stylish and interesting piece of equipment. It has several powers, among which: Ebony Bolero wrote: the wearer can force a creature with the rage class ability to enter a raging state for at least 1 round (though the target can remain in this state longer if it chooses). Seriously? Your party's Barbarian can choose to continue raging? Forever? Isn't that a bit overpowered?
|
2 people marked this as a favorite.
|
The wording isn't perfect, but that's obviously not the intent.
I do think 'use some common sense and ethics' should be an unspoken clause throughout this game that would solve a lot of the 'cheese' people come up with, either inadvertently or willfully.
It seems to me the effect would last at most up to a minute. But a minute of free raging isn't bad. And of course it could be done 5 times per day.
Really, the most conservative interpretation is that it lasts for 1 round of free rage, and then could continue raging spending rounds as normal.
|
2 people marked this as a favorite.
|
"The most conservative interpretation" would in fact be that that first round isn't free, either - you're forcing them to expend their abilities.
Got to disagree with the Jester on this last bit. While nothing in the wording even says that there is any mitigation of costs/negative side effects, there is no wording saying that a tapped out rager can't still have his switch flipped for that one round, it does at least suggest that the first round is "free" of your "rounds per day" costs.
Thats what I was thinking Daw. Even a barbarian with all their rounds of rage used would be forced to rage for 1 round, also if they were fatigued from raging previously.
So this item definitely breaks some normal barriers.
I think it has to grant at least 1 round of rage for free.
So, in theory, a rager flipping his own switch at a cost of a standard action every other round, could "infinite rage" on every alternate round, doing a wierd get-around on fatigue penalties on their "rage rounds". I will let the Action Economists work out how this balances out, but, as a GM, I would Rule Zero at least a chance of total incapacitation if this tactic was used, and would want to apply some sort of concentration check to continue to activate the toy while fatigued.
The item only has 5 charges per day, so it would only give 5 activations of the ability Daw.
Missed that bit, Thanks Claxon.
5 free rounds rounds of Rage is nice, but hardly game-breaking.
I would think the smart rager would entrust the ring to an ally less reliant on action economy, so, in a very optimized game, a familiar or cohort.
I'd also interpret it as forcing somebody to use a round of their rage ability (if available), not giving them a free round.
As far as I can tell, all the spells and class abilities that give a free use of rage actually say so.
It sounds like it's essentially a slightly worse version of the extra rage feat.
Recent threads in Rules Questions
|