| UnArcaneElection |
I would suppose this would be similar to putting on armor and then eating an awful lot of cheesecake, only faster.
Sort of related to this: In 1st Edition AD&D Enlarge and its reverse (which was listed as an option of the same spell instead of being separate) worked on both creatures and objects, but was only half as effective on objects, which would seem to me to create problems when you want to Enlarge your Fighter. You couldn't use this to crush somebody to death by casting Enlarge on them when they were in armor (not in the original spell description -- without going to the trouble to dig out my Dungeon Master's Guide and find the right place, I think this limitation was in there), but you could potentially ruin their armor that way. This means that if you wanted to enlarge them and have them in armor, you would have to have oversized armor made and kept ready for them (although I wondered if it would be possible to have them go in through a hatch while normal sized, and then Enlarge them to fill in their armor -- would be embarrassing and dangerous if the spell wore off while they were still in combat, though).
| The Mad Comrade |
All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly reduced by the spell.
This phrase is in there precisely to prevent lame deaths.
However, there is also the standard language scattered throughout the rules about breaking out of confines too small for one's new size. If the check succeeds, the blocking object (armor in this case) is scattered into component pieces as the previously shrunken person returns to their normal size. Failure means they are stuck, held in place by the armor...
Murdock Mudeater
|
What would happen if someone was reduced, put on armor for their new size, and then the spell finished and they went back to normal size?
Up to the GM. Book doesn't address what happens when reduce person ends and there isn't adequate space.
Asked a similar question a while back regarding a medium creature with swallow whole, regarding what happens when their swallowed "small" opponent has reduce person end and they revert to being a medium creature.
No rules. The obvious, but not RAW, answer would be to resolve the end of reduce person as if the target were subject to enlarge person. Enlarge does addess what would happen with lacking space. As per enlarge person, if there isn't space, you'd just remain in your current size.
That said, you run into issues, like the OP question, where a reduced person can extend the duration of the spell almost indefinitely.
Basically, this is an ASK THE GM question.