
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I've got an Arcane Duelist bard in PFS who will eventually want to take advantage of his Arcane Bond class feature to enchant his masterwork weapon. I've read all the relevant resources I can find, including the FAQs in this forum. I'm a little worried that I'm overlooking or misinterpreting some rules, though.
When I become a level 5 bard, I can enchant it to +1, paying 1000g to do so. It takes 2 days, I have to make a DC 10 Spellcraft check, and I have to have enough fame to buy a 2,000 gp item (not a problem). Seems simple so far.
Let's say I want to make it a Dueling weapon. I would need to pay 7,000g, pass the DC 10 Spellcraft check, and have enough fame to afford a 16,000gp item, right?
Let's say I want to make it Keen. Do I have to be CL 10 to do that, or can I just add 5 to the difficulty of the Spellcraft roll (making it 20) before I'm CL 10? Can I use a scroll of Keen Edge to meet the spell requirements, or is increasing the Spellcraft DC my only option?
Is there anything I'm overlooking? Who should witness my spellcraft rolls, and should this go on a chronicle sheet somewhere?

![]() |

Let's say I want to make it a Dueling weapon. I would need to pay 7,000g, pass the DC 10 Spellcraft check, and have enough fame to afford a 16,000gp item, right?
Assuming you are talking about the dueling enchantment from Ultimate equipment that seems correct.
Let's say I want to make it Keen. Do I have to be CL 10 to do that, or can I just add 5 to the difficulty of the Spellcraft roll (making it 20) before I'm CL 10? Can I use a scroll of Keen Edge to meet the spell requirements, or is increasing the Spellcraft DC my only option?
You can take 10 on your Spellcraft checks. You can also use Craft (bows) instead of Spellcraft. If you use Craft you can possibly UMD a scroll of crafter's fortune for each day of crafting.
For spell prerequisites you need to provide the scroll for each day of crafting.
Is there anything I'm overlooking? Who should witness my spellcraft rolls, and should this go on a chronicle sheet somewhere?
Presumably a GM (who should also sign off if you are able to make the DC on a take 10).

andreww |
As far as I can tell in PFS you don't need to use spellcraft at all, all you need is to meet the pre-requisites for the item. This seems to include the caster level of the relevant feat and any prereqs listed in the item description (e.g 3xenhancement bonus for weapons).
PFS doesn't really use the crafting rules and arcane bond doesn't seem to be an exception to that.

Chess Pwn |

So kinda related question, lets say I go arcane heritage and get a bonded item on my cleric.
Can he get the +2 weapon at lv6 using his actual stuff or does he need to wait till 8 using his effective wizard level?
Now what happens if the character is a fighter? Can he upgrade it at all using his effective wizard level as his caster level? Can he assume he's using Master Craftsman to qualify and what he's using to upgrade the item?

![]() |

I never considered increasing the DC by 5 for circumventing the CL requirement. I thought that rule existed for things like the inability to cast a particular spell, or have a particular alignment. But rereading it now, that seems legit.
I always avoided Arcane Bonded Items because it seemed they were capped at such a low level, but maybe now I'll have to try one out.

Keep Calm and Carrion |

In PFS, according to the FAQ, it does seem that there is no check of any kind needed, but that there's also no way to speed up access.
The FAQ says the caster must meet all prerequisites for the item as outlined in the item crafting rules. Bypassing requirements is part of the item crafting rules. I have used adding five to the spellcraft check as part of making my item.
Confusing. If this were a local game, I'd just ask my storyteller for a ruling. What does one do in PFS?

![]() |

Thomas Hutchins wrote:In PFS, according to the FAQ, it does seem that there is no check of any kind needed, but that there's also no way to speed up access.Ragoz wrote:The FAQ says the caster must meet all prerequisites for the item as outlined in the item crafting rules. Bypassing requirements is part of the item crafting rules. I have used adding five to the spellcraft check as part of making my item.Confusing. If this were a local game, I'd just ask my storyteller for a ruling. What does one do in PFS?
Ask the campaign leadership for a clarification (ideally after doing a bit of research) in a new thread, where you lay out all the current interpretations and if you have the time list the potential effects each one has.

![]() |

So kinda related question, lets say I go arcane heritage and get a bonded item on my cleric.
Can he get the +2 weapon at lv6 using his actual stuff or does he need to wait till 8 using his effective wizard level?
Now what happens if the character is a fighter? Can he upgrade it at all using his effective wizard level as his caster level? Can he assume he's using Master Craftsman to qualify and what he's using to upgrade the item?
As written, I think the Arcane bond doesn't use class levels for determining when they can add magical abilities to their Bonded weapon. I think this because the arcane bond allows adding magic abilities as if you had the feats, but doesn't allow you to ignore the feat requirements. So you'd use your caster level (in any class) to determine feat requirements for adding magical abilties to your bonded item.
This would mean that a Fighter using Eldrich Heritage would be unable to meet caster level requirements for the feats, so would not be able to benefit as much from an arcane bond (still a weapon that repairs itself, which is the more impressive ability anyway, for the fighter).
And, as far as I can tell, you could still hire someone else to enchant a bonded object normally (at normal cost).
As for using the bonded object to cast spells, that is based on your wizard level. I'm unclear if a fighter or cleric can use it at all, since they lack the spellbook class feature.