Swallow Whole and Teleport?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

If a creature is swallowed, and the creature doing the swallowing attempts to teleport, how many creatures are they considered? If they had a "personal" teleport ability, would they be able to use it?

Offhand example is a Frog Companion and a Druid the with the Tree Stride spell. The Druid can Share the spell with Frog and the Frog can swallow things whole. Spell has a range of Personal and is teleportation.


You cannot bring your swallowed victim with you.

Teleport wrote:


You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.

Unless they have been rendered helpless, at which point they count as willing. At that point you count as 1 creature, the swallowed creature is dependent on its size as per the teleport rules.

Scarab Sages

bbangerter wrote:

You cannot bring your swallowed victim with you.

Teleport wrote:


You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
Unless they have been rendered helpless, at which point they count as willing. At that point you count as 1 creature, the swallowed creature is dependent on its size as per the teleport rules.

But are things you swallow counted as such? At what point are they considered part of the same creature?

If I swallow a Fine insect (flew into my mouth), will it prevent me from teleporting?


Items/gear are considered part of the same creature - attended objects. Other characters are not.


IIRC, normal non-intelligent bugs are objects and not creatures, so you could pack your stomach with them and take them all along in a teleport.

If you held a live mouse in your mouth and tried to teleport, either you'd fail or you'd leave the mouse behind. Probably the latter.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:
bbangerter wrote:

You cannot bring your swallowed victim with you.

Teleport wrote:


You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
Unless they have been rendered helpless, at which point they count as willing. At that point you count as 1 creature, the swallowed creature is dependent on its size as per the teleport rules.

But are things you swallow counted as such? At what point are they considered part of the same creature?

If I swallow a Fine insect (flew into my mouth), will it prevent me from teleporting?

Teleporting would leave the fly behind. As mentioned, once it's dead then that's different.


That follows under the category of if I teleport does my dinner come with me.
Usually dinner isn't willing.


Baachus wrote:

That follows under the category of if I teleport does my dinner come with me.

Usually dinner isn't willing.

I don't know about you but normally my dinner isn't alive lol.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yogurt doesn't teleport?

Liberty's Edge

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
bbangerter wrote:

You cannot bring your swallowed victim with you.

Teleport wrote:


You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels.
Unless they have been rendered helpless, at which point they count as willing. At that point you count as 1 creature, the swallowed creature is dependent on its size as per the teleport rules.

But are things you swallow counted as such? At what point are they considered part of the same creature?

If I swallow a Fine insect (flew into my mouth), will it prevent me from teleporting?

Once they are dead and digestion has started.

Scarab Sages

Huh, well consistent answers are best. Darn, that sounded like a fun combo. Thanks for the help.


Lemartes wrote:
Yogurt doesn't teleport?

Yogurt is always willing?


It's never willing. So it doesn't teleport by this definition. ;)


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Don't the microorganisms in yogurt fare better in a human digestive system than splashed all over the ground? If so, that would be sufficient reason for them to always be willing -- and also that their microscopic size would prevent them from counting as separate creatures for that purpose.

Of course, if they, like real world plants, lack wisdom and charisma scores, then they are attended objects rather than creatures despite being alive.

Come to think of it -- disease organisms would be evidence that microbes are not creatures in game terms. A diseased creature is no more difficult to teleport than a healthy one, and nobody is ever cured of a disease merely by being teleported.


I was being facetious.

I don't know what the rules should be.


Considering the myriad of microbiological things in your system teleport. I.e. You don't die shortly after teleporting due to missing various things that produce energy, or die of starvation from lack of the various helpful bugs..

That microbiologicals don't count as non willing and such.

If you teleport a dead rotting cow into a fortified castle's water source.. They're gonna have problems~

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swallow Whole and Teleport? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions