Kineticists and Gaseous Form


Rules Questions


Situation: Our cleric cast Wind Walk on the party, including the Kineticist.

Wind Walk functions as Gaseous Form.

Gaseous Form states: "It can't attack or cast spells with verbal, somatic, material, or focus components while in gaseous form... The subject also loses supernatural abilities while in gaseous form."

Kinetic Blast is a spell-like ability and requires no verbal, somatic, material or focus components. This would seem to indicate it could be used whilst in gaseous form.

However!

The kineticist class gains Kinetic Blast from the Elemental Focus (Su) class ability. A kineticist would lose Elemental Focus while in gaseous form.

Question: Can a kineticist use Kinetic Blast while in gaseous form?

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gaseous Form wrote:
It can't attack...

I would say that a kinetic blast is an attack. So no.

Also a Kineticist gains a kinetic blast from the Kinetic Blast (sp) feature, not Elemental Focus

Side note, I don't think that using a utility wild talent would require anything besides being conscious, so you could activate the non-attack ones while in gaseous form.


If a Wizard could cast a Silent, Still Scorching Ray, why couldn't a Kineticist use a silent, still Kinetic Blast?

Sovereign Court

Gaseous form prevents you from attacking. Kineticists' blasts are attacks. So, while a wizard could cast a silent still mage armor in gaseous form, he couldn't cast a silent still scorching ray. You could still use any wild talents that don't require limbs or attacks, though.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If a Wizard could cast a Silent, Still Fireball without an attack, why couldn't they cast a Silent, Still Fireball through a narrow opening with an attack?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

One of the new talents allows kineticists to go gaseous but says they cannot attack while gaseous.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

You can't attack as in gaseous form because you're a cloud of gas. You have nothing to attack or aim with. Even if gaseous form didn't explicitly bar attacks, you can't use kinetic blast anyway. You can only fire a kinetic blast if you have a free hand or a prehensile limb. You have neither of those as a cloud.


JDLPF wrote:
If a Wizard could cast a Silent, Still Fireball without an attack, why couldn't they cast a Silent, Still Fireball through a narrow opening with an attack?

"Attack" has a lot of different definitions. If you go with a broad one (the English definition), the wizard can't to the first one either because throwing a fireball at somebody is definitely attacking them. A narrow definition of attack permits both ("attacks are only traditional weapon/natural weapon attacks"). In between ("attacks are anything requiring attack rolls"), you allow the first but not the second because it's too hard to aim as a cloud.


Ellias Aubec wrote:
One of the new talents allows kineticists to go gaseous but says they cannot attack while gaseous.

Source?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
JDLPF wrote:
Ellias Aubec wrote:
One of the new talents allows kineticists to go gaseous but says they cannot attack while gaseous.
Source?

Psychic Anthology, page 22. ^_^

Mr. Seifter wanted it made clear that kineticists couldn't use blasts while gaseous - it was one of the concerns about including the spell in Kinetic Invocation.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Many thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kineticists and Gaseous Form All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions