
BelkasRo |
Playing a blade bound Magus at level 8. My GM housed ruled no spell caps. Group keeps giving guides are very biased
Human blade bound magus
Dex and int base
Str 16
Con 14
Dex 20
Int 20
Wis 16
Cha 16
(Rolled up a beast)
Bonus modifiers
Dex 20 / original 18
+2 belt of dexterity
Int 20/ was 16
+2 for human bonus and! Lvl 4 & 8 +1 bonuses on
+2 bonus on blade
-------------
I think I understand the ruling of spell strike, spell recall and spell combat
Option A
Use spell strike with shocking grasp to charge the blade. Hit him and then I use spell recall to cast it again while hitting them. 16d6 shocking grasp.
Or
Option B
Use spell strike with shocking grasp to charge the blade. Hit him and then I use spell recall to cast it again to put in my off hand. Do I hit him with both hand spell and blades spell. Does it cause AOP or not if got improved spell combat.
Example
Option A
Attack 1d20+14
Damage 1d0+5+16d8
Option B
First attack
Attack 1d20+14
Damage 1d0+5+16d8
Second attack
Attack 1d20+8
Damage 8d6
Common damage roll be between 51-87 other option
Which be the correct example?
----
Any recommendations touch spell outside the magus spell list be beneficial to a blade bound Magus.

MrCharisma |

(LINK->) READ THIS GUIDE (<-LINK) to understand spell-combat and spellstrike.
Seriously it's everything a young magus needs to know.

Gisher |

...
I think I understand the ruling of spell strike, spell recall and spell combat
I don't think you do, but that's normal. The Magus rules can take a while to sort out. I strongly agree with MrCharisma's recommendation that you read Grick's Guide. There is a reason why it has been Favorited an amazing 335 times!
Option A
Use spell strike with shocking grasp to charge the blade. Hit him and then I use spell recall to cast it again while hitting them. 16d6 shocking grasp.
As a few people have pointed out, you are incorrectly interpreting Spell Recall. It lets you use a Swift Action to restore a spell to your list of prepared spells. It doesn't let you cast the spell as part of that Swift Action.
So the sequence would look like this:
-Use a Standard Action to cast Shocking Grasp
-Use Spellstrike to deliver the free touch attack through an attack with your Black Blade (This is a free action).
-Use a Swift Action to recall the spell using Spell Recall.
To cast Shocking Grasp again would require either a Standard Action or, if you have a method for applying Quickened Spell, a Swift Action, but you have already used up both for this round. So you can't cast that Shocking Grasp until the next round.
Option B
Use spell strike with shocking grasp to charge the blade. Hit him and then I use spell recall to cast it again to put in my off hand. Do I hit him with both hand spell and blades spell. Does it cause AOP or not if got improved spell combat.
This option has the same problem as the other one.